PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - where to instruct?
View Single Post
Old 29th Nov 2007, 22:40
das Uber Soldat

Received 127 Likes on 36 Posts
Total crap. Real job? Buddy - get a grip. Arrogance like that will see you canned in plenty of places in this industry before you've even walked through the door. You'd be amazed at how watching and teaching day in day out, with demonstrations, can actually improve your overall flying skills. It's not all about muscle memory. I instructed from day 1 up to multi-engine IFR and then flew multi-engine IFR charter in a variety of multi engine aircraft, including multi turbine, before moving onto the airlines.
Actually, I am an instructor. I'm not amazed how often demonstration and 'watching' improves hand flying skills. Whilst there is going to be some improvement, speaking strictly in terms of stick and rudder, all my colleagues including those with up to 7000hrs instructing ME IFR remark that once back in the left seat they, for a time at least, are not up to their usual standard. Call that arrogance if you need to, I just believe its the reality. Its not to say instructors cant fly well, or very well, but I fail to understand how you can develop your hand flying ability from not hand flying. Explain to me how this is more, or even equally advantageous as another pilot doing nothing but? I would have thought it basic common sense, oh well.