PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Frustrated (?) pilots and security screening
Old 9th Aug 2007, 21:49
busty bird

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fortuna 76,
I do apologise fully for a very unnecessary comment about pilots......I do respect that it is not an easy job - honestly I'm just starting out with my PPL..
Yes I had had a bad day and had to deal with a very very rude Capt who seemed to think it was perfectly acceptable for me to risk my job by ignoring the current security rules to suit him. He wasn't a nice man and he did seem to think he was far more important than any other person walking this earth, and I was not prepared to ignore the fact that he had been abusive to a member of staff. But it is wrong for me to take that out on any other pilot that happens to be out there - and yes there are plenty out there that are very nice and several that I am very good mates with.
So SORRY, honestly it was wrong SORRY!
In just the same way there are plenty of security staff that are a pain in the bloody arse too I know, but lots that are just doing their best to do a good job.
Security staffing is all about getting numbers through the door now - not about quality at all. And while it's run by airports who are far more interested in trying to make money out of more and more shops that in security it will remain the same.