PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Risky business . . .
View Single Post
Old 22nd Dec 2005, 20:04
MyData
Fixed+Rotary (aircraft, not washing lines)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
With regards mortgage life insurance - I mentioned it to the company I use. The (young sounding) call centre chap said 'No problem'. So I left it a couple of days and called back, this time got someone who went away to check. Still 'No problem'. I asked if they wanted something in writing from me - to confirm that I had told them - 'No, nothing required. You are covered'.

With regards PHI, life insurance at work: I stated I was a PPL student and that I had a CAA medical (Class II). Oh Lordy, this stirred up a whole lot of hassle. Now I need to go for more medical tests - which I *didn't* have to do before I told them I was learning to fly??? Go figure.

With regards to risk. Well, yes. It is something you and only you can make the decision on. My view is that this flying lark sharpens your senses, makes you a better person at assessing risks and really improves situational awareness. I've found that my driving habits are much more moderate since learning to fly. I just don't seem to take those risks that I would have previously.