PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - newly qualified pilots job situation
View Single Post
Old 5th Oct 2005, 11:44
JT8

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hedges:

My story and timeline:
I graduated from university with the hope of applying to all sponsorships afterwards. If not successful I was planning to self fund a modular course. However 9/11 then happenned...

I did self fund but had to time it very carefully. As I have learned timing is everything in this industry. I worked out when I would be on the job market allowing my course to run over by 3 months.
In the mean time I got a relevant graduate job the help me towards the cost.

I ended up doing an integrated course at Cranfield Sept 2002 - Oct 2003. I managed first time passes in ground school and all flight tests (helps a lot if integrated with recommendations etc.)

Nov and Dec 2003 was spent doing CV's, on the phone to airlines and doing interview and simulator preperation.

January 2004: Selection with CTC and a TP operator.
Fabruary 2004: CTC MCC and Advanced handling course.
March 2004: Selection with easyJet.
April 2004: 737 Type rating.
Oct 2005: Just about to get my full ATPL. Airbus TR in November.

I was extremely lucky!! However on my course nearly everyone got a job within 6 months of finishing. Most with TP operators, myself and another jet jobs. The market now seems very good.