PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Local Pilots (HK)
View Single Post
Old 3rd Sep 2005, 08:23
hekokimushi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I agree with your post regarding non-fluent english speaking asians. but there are a lot out here whom lived their life in a western culture. English as our first language. And introduced to the world of fun... the private flying... and wanna go commerical. but... as u mention... the training cost is just like extordinary high... for anybody anywhere in the world (specially in the UK). hence it comes to the cadet programmes. i am a PPL... self funded to this affordable level, 3 years of savings with a full time and part time job.

then... thought i have all the key factors to re-apply to the cadet programme with the airline everyone wants to work for. but i found myself another failure letter, after proving i can handle the flying bit, the organisation bit. but not the other bits that they exercise during the selection programme... i am an engineer... so i can analyse things... maybe something that they cannot measure during those exercises within 2-3 hours.

Lets not say if foreign language matters. i would think an British person... using mbar, zone penatration and circuits all life, flying in the US... using 2992, flight following and regular pattern would find themselve a bit unused to such "foreign" language. technical interview would not be a big problem i think.