PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Question for Instructors.
View Single Post
Old 29th Jul 2004, 04:38
150Aerobat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Question for Instructors.

I'm currently studying the instructors rating and am not particularly happy with how things are going. I started in late April and to date have completed the mass and pre-flight briefs but done only 14 hours of the flying. I received minimal guidance, direction or assistance with the briefs, so much so that I could have just as well done them before quitting my full time (read "paid") job. The CFI insisted on completing all the briefs before setting foot near the aircraft, which seemed odd but who am I to argue so I complied. Now that the briefs have been completed / presented and accepted by the CFI and other grade 1's, I'd like to get underway with the flying but it's dragging out like you wouldn't believe. I've been on a roster since I first started, so I have been at the school 9-5 most days answering the phone, handling queries, writing quotes, washing aircraft, vaccuuming, cleaning, washing up and every other domestic endorsement you could think of, so I'm around all the time, but I just about have to shoe horn an instructor into the aircraft simply to go flying. For this priviledge I pay over $200 per hour. I'm not paid for the domestic, phone answering general dogsbody stuff, but I have been told I'll be paid $35 / hr for the few scenic's I've done (5 or so over the last 3 months). I dragged my long suffering girlfriend over here from overseas, and she'd much rather be living in Sydney or Melbourne where she could actually get a job relevant to the career she studies two degrees for instead of counting beekeeper applications. She's happy enough to make the sacrifice if I'm getting something out of it, but that doesn't seem to be coming along too well either.