PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Empire Strikes Back! on Colour Defective Pilots... Again.
Old 6th Jan 2024, 23:43
Missing aileron

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thank you for your response, Clinton. That's all very valuable information. The work you guys are doing is fantastic, and I truly do hope CASA wakes up and implements some more modern medical standards. I am still a fairly new pilot (95ish hours). However, I've had the opportunity to fly all over the country in a variety of different aircraft from single pistons to multi-jets (most as a passenger). While doing that, though, I've been exposed to IFR and VFR conditions both day and night, and neither myself nor the pilot have found anything I can't see in an operational environment. When the ACVA becomes available as the next step, I am confident I will pass it.

In part 67, subpart 67.150 of the CASR, it says the following:
(6) A person must demonstrate that he or she meets the criterion in item 1.39 of table 67.150 by:

(a) in daylight, or artificial light of similar luminosity, readily identifying a series of pseudo‑isochromatic plates of the Ishihara 24‑plate type, making no more than 2 errors; or

(b) for somebody who makes more than 2 errors in a test mentioned in paragraph (a), readily identifying aviation coloured lights displayed by means of a Farnsworth colour‑perception lantern, making:

(i) no errors on 1 run of 9 pairs of lights; or

(ii) no more than 2 errors on a sequence of 2 runs of 9 pairs of lights; or

(c) for somebody who does not satisfy paragraph (a) or (b), correctly identifying all relevant coloured lights in a test, determined by CASA, that simulates an operational situation.