PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Helicopter instruction: Cost etc
View Single Post
Old 4th Jan 2004, 18:43
Whirlybird

The Original Whirly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ascend Charlie did in fact say 45 grand for a PPL, whatever he might have meant.

As an instructor, I quote that £12,000 to my students. But £18,000 could easily be closer in reality. Let's have a look at the figures.

Hourly rate: £210 plus VAT and landing fees where I am. You can get it for a bit more or a bit less, but I think that's probably typical. If it's a lot less do some research; in my experience you get what you pay for...and I learned that the hard way. OK, so around £250/hr all-in. Minimum required is 45 hours, but most people take 60-70. Since Charlie is young and plans to do it over a relatively short time, let's say 50 hours, though this may be over-optimistic. That gives £12,500 (which is where I got my figures from). Of course, he might do it in minimum hours, which would mean it'll cost around £11,000. BUT...books, charts etc - probably another couple of hundred quid. Ground school - usually learn it by yourself, but some places teach it, and would cost a bit. Exams - can't remember what they cost, but not free. Medicals and so on.... So perhaps £14,000 would be more accurate, as an average. Though for plenty of people Whirlygig's figure is probably closer.

As for our pay, £30-40 per flying hour is hardly a fortune. Briefings are free, and in most places tend to be thorough. With the UK weather, instructors still find it hard to survive. But unlike f/w instructors, who are paid less, it is just possible to make a living out of it. So they tend to be career instructors, rather than the airline wannabe hourbuilders and retired folk you get in the f/w world. As such, I'd say the overall standard is better...and I've been a student in both.