PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Reform the U.K. CAA
View Single Post
Old 21st Aug 2021, 15:45
8Wheeler

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Reform the U.K. CAA

I am a UK and EASA commercial pilot, flying instructor, aviation business owner, & UAS enthusiast, I trained from April 2019 and have battled through Brexit and Covid, but in the most part I have battled the UK CAA. I know I’m not alone.

I’m writing with one main goal - To try create a political movement and debate that instigates a wholesale reform of the UK CAA.

Prior to starting in Aviation I was a Police officer and worked through some very hard reforms and austerity measures. This was a painful time in policing, but it brought efficiency and innovation.

I have come to realise that the UK CAA are a quango formed in the 1970’s who’s ideology, mission statement and funding strategy do not suit the modern age. Many of these quangos including the National Policing Improvement Agency were “burned” between 2010-2012, but the UK CAA remained.

Examples of how the funding strategy/ideology destroy efficacy and innovation:
Cellama - separate medical system, no joined up thinking, creates silos.
Drone Database - as above, could have been a single record management system that linked to all types of pilots. Way over priced.
EU Return licences - Could have just kept old records and printed a UK FCL licence, instead created a long winded costly process.
Multiple website and customer portal issues and downtime.
We are still flying 1970’s aircraft due to over regulation