PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - European Flight Academy (EFA) selection experiences
Old 4th Aug 2020, 05:23
andy148

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Pawly
Besides, why does it matter? I have planned my finances very well and know exactly what I'm getting into. Y
Pawly, can I please give you some advice?

Two years ago I applied for 'generation easyJet' and the Virgin Atlantic cadet program (A330 MPL), I did both assessments, and passed. On the 'generation easyJet' route (A320 MPL), I got as far as being offered a start date. I was subsequently told that I scored an amber on the psychometric testing that said I had a tendency for risk, and the offer was withdrawn. I also had my finances in order, (I would have been 38 yrs old when I started training. And had the funds to pay for everything, but it meant I would not have any cash reserves). I missed out on the Virgin Atlantic cadet scheme in the 3rd stage. Missing out on both these tagged schemes was painful, by then I had my PPL+night rating, with a couple hundred hours.

All the while this was going on, I had a friend who is a senior FO at one of the ME3 telling me it was a bad idea, and to really think about my choices in going into the airlines as a third carrier. I also had a TRE/TRI at the same airline raising eyebrows at my decision. But I knew better, I couldn't see the woods for the trees. What I'm getting at, and what I should have/and did learn, is when people in the very industry you wish to join give you FREE advice. Listen to it, even if it goes against your plan.