PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Acquiring PPL in Canada or USA
View Single Post
Old 13th Jan 2020, 22:35
Genghis the Engineer

Received 49 Likes on 25 Posts
I've licences in the UK, EU, USA and Canada, rented in all of them, trained in the USA and UK.

Originally Posted by Piqueteer
Hi all,

I'm hoping you can assist me as I'm completely green around acquiring a PPL other than the research I've done online.
Background: I'm a UK resident, I have 5 weeks off work next year and I'm looking to do my PPL in USA or Canada to get the licence in an accelerated manner. I'm not as interested in the European schools as I have some family in USA who I would be looking to see before going home.

From my research I've probably got more confused which is why I'm asking the question here, and some of the threads on PPRuNe have answered my questions but some have convoluted things so any help is greatly appreciated.

USA:
  • Had contacts from 3-4 schools in Florida very promptly and they have good reviews. Very swish marketing and operation by first impressions.
Take care of swish marketing. Some American schools are superb, some are just well marketed. Contact people who have trained there, and particularly look hard at the responses to any difficult questions you ask. Did they give you the answers they thought you wanted, or did they give you the answers they thought you needed? If they aren't training at-least a proportion of local students, I'd be suspicious.

Train during a period of time, see friends and family in a different period of time. Don't mix them. If you're going for a dedicated flying course, be dedicated.

Wherever you go, and whatever route you take, do as much study as possible beforehand. In the USA, I'd personally recommend the online Rod Machado courses as being worth every cent. In Europe we're not blessed with such good CBT resources, but the Jeremy Pratt books from AFE are good.