PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - Ethiopian airliner down in Africa
View Single Post
Old 17th Mar 2019, 10:43
Unmanned&unafraid

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Don’t post often – but my observations FWIW. Firstly, I have 35 years aviation experience mostly military but my last 14 years are in flight testing and last 11 years on fairly complex unmanned systems.
Observation 1 - Having spent weeks of my life looking at Failure Modes Effects Analysis (FEMA) spread sheets/matrixes. It seem inconceivable that the Boeing engineers would allow a single point of failure (AOA vane) to result in a catastrophic failure ( lost of life). If they did and convinced the regulators of that, then this is criminal. Personally, I don’t believe that – the loss of an AOA vane and utilisation of MCAS would need to be mitigated to be a safe event. That said without seeing the analysis and the mitigation strategy if remains on the table for discussion and it could be that the mitigation was poor – but well argued to allow certification. So, the big question is how did they mitigate this event??

Observation 2 - Since the day I first strapped myself into an aircraft, I have made in my professional duty to understand the aircraft system I am flying in and have always studied and learnt from other accidents and incidents. If I was a Max 737 pilot ( I am not) I would be damn sure I knew everything about the Lion Air crash and these forums are a superb learning aid tolerating from these rare and unfortunate accidents (thank you to the many contributors who encourage learning and data gathering). I would expect I am correct in thinking that all 737 Max pilots would also be doing the same. So the next question is would the Ethiopian crew know how to handle initiation of the MCAS? The answer must surely be yes.