PDA

View Full Version : RT etiquette - Another Stupid Question

piperboy84
25th Feb 2012, 10:53
My question is the following: Is it considered helpful or pushy or at worst breaching RT rules by offering the CT folks a jump on what they are going to say? I probably should reiterate I am new to UK flying, I hold a FAA PPL and 95% of my flying has been in and out US class Delta and Charlie fields usually underneath Class Bravo in metro LA and San Francisco.

Specifically, when approaching my then home field of Santa Monica (a fairly busy GA field) there was usually 5 to 10 other aircraft operating and the CT was quite busy. It was fairly routine for approaching pilots to anticipate the controllers instructions based on instructions to previous traffic and make that anticipated traffic advisory part of the initial RT request, i.e.

The standard procedural RT would go something like this:

ME: " XX Tower, Nxxxx over (vrp xxx) at 1500 with (ATIS X ) inbound for full stop landing
CT: " NXXXX make right traffic for 21, report downwind abeam the numbers"
ME:" XX Tower, Nxxxx will make right traffic for 21, reporting downwind abeam the numbers"

The expedited practice frequently used to keep the frequency clear would be as follows:

ME: "XX Tower Nxxxx over( VRP xxx) at 1500 with (ATIS X) inbound for full stop landing request right traffic for 21 ,reporting downwind abeam the numbers"
CT " Nxxxx request approved"

Would this be acceptable here in the UK, or would it go over like a sh*t in the jacuzzi?
Based on my last "stupid question" post, please allow me a few minutes to baton down the hatches and assume a defensive posture for the inevitable beating coming my way. Also, in anticipation of some of the more tut tutting responses, I have viewed both the Oxford VFR RT Comms + UK Supplement vids.

neilgeddes
25th Feb 2012, 11:24
I think it's usual just to start with "Somewhere TWR, G-ABCD inbound" and wait for their reply to pass your message.

Genghis the Engineer