PDA

View Full Version : n-1 after V1

maarten4
24th Feb 2009, 07:33
Hi, bit of a silly question. But how is it called when there is a n-1 after V1 and you have to continue the take off.

I am a student pilot and we had this discussion this morning, and even our instrumentation teacher couldn't answer this question.:confused:

thank you.

Lemurian
24th Feb 2009, 08:47
Simply call it "Engine failure after V1".
Of course, at that moment you are commited and your hand has left the throttles at the V1 call.

FE Hoppy
24th Feb 2009, 10:14
Engine failure above V1 or accelerate go.

bfisk
24th Feb 2009, 10:18
HOW it is called (out)? Would depend on the SOP. In the company I work for; "Engine failure left/right engine".

Old Smokey
24th Feb 2009, 12:16
maarten4, there are no silly questions, omly silly answers. I hope that this is not one of them:confused:

I'm a little unsure of your question "how is it called as to whether you are looking for the term for an engine failure at/above V1, or what does the support (non-flying pilot) call?

The terminology is a bit loose, but it is typically referred to as an engine failure ON Takeoff (as opposed to the more typical single engined aircraft AFATO, engine failure AFTER Takeoff).

A bit pedantic, but the subtle difference in terminology lies in the fact that for an engine failure at or just above V1, there is often still quite a bit of the Takeoff remaining, i.e. acceleration to Vr, Rotation, Initial climb to the (typical) 35 ft screen height at the end of the runway, with acceleration to V2 accomplished in this final phase.

Calls made by the Pilot Monitoring (PM), or PNF not so far back, vary greatly according to the airline's SOPs. Some call it, some don't call it at all, the latter because the Pilot Flying is ACUTELY aware that he/she has suffered an engine failure.