PDA

View Full Version : Short/Soft Field (Netherthorpe) Touch&Go's for a PPL Student

EdButler
18th Aug 2008, 16:33
Hi Everyone!

A long time lurker here hoping to get my feet wet here on PPRuNe :)

My background is that I used to train for my PPL from 16-18years old at East Midlands Flying School flying C-152s. I did plenty of hours (around 48, 8 of which Solo, 3hrs Solo Nav) but wasn't close, in my eyes to test standard due to only being able to fly once every 3-4 weeks :ugh:. With my A-Levels and other commitments (i was young, so girls etc!!) and the fact I was spending my fathers money, id stopped my training when starting University.

Anyway, were now 7 years on and im going full steam ahead on my own back, thank goodness. I'm now training with Phoenix at Netherthorpe and absolutely love the new people and challenges id never met before (like landing on the numbers for starters :ok:) and the fact the Instructors don't come and go every other month!

Theres one thing thats getting to me though...

When landing at Netherthorpe (mainly 06/24 ofcourse), in all but the perfect conditions you must use a relatively high and fast approach to be absolutely safe, which is perfectly fine with me. However, when circuit training, a flare from this relatively steep angle can often take you just past the numbers before touchdown, which makes a touch & go feel somewhat a hit & miss affair! Im now solo-ready again after 5-6 hours, but after previously having 3000m, countless orbiting, heavy traffic and 7min wake turbulence delays to play with, Netherthorpe is barely giving me more landing practise!

When the landing is good and efficient, the instructor usually takes over, quickly sets full throttle carb heat to cold and quickly gets the flaps up from 30 to 10 degrees and finally de-trim's from decent configuration to pull the nose off at 50kts, as usual.