PDA

View Full Version : sharing a ride?

bigots
19th Aug 2006, 04:30
is it still possible to share a ride with a private plane pilot & owner globally?
where do you advertise for fastest results

Lister Noble
20th Aug 2006, 10:22
I was at Clacton yesterday doing my tailwheel conversion,having a sandwich out in the sunshine when a chap walked up,asked if I was a pilot and would I like to take him up and share the cost.
I told him to ask in the clubhouse as they do private flights.;)
I would not take somebody up that I didn't know,and those friends that I do I don't ask to pay!

What is the legal aspect of all this?
Lister:)

Flying Lawyer
20th Aug 2006, 12:27
bigots

I don't know about NZ but (in general terms), in the UK..........

A PPL is permitted to share the cost of a flight with passengers provided there are no more than 4 people on board and the pilot pays his/her proportion of the cost. ie 2 people - pilot must pay at least half, 3 - pilot must pay at least a third etc. (The passengers can share the balance as they wish.)

Whether a club would allow a hopeful passenger to put up an ad asking for a ride and offering to share the cost would depend on the club.

There's a little more two it, but those are the main points.

Lister Noble
I'm puzzled by your ;) .
Does it mean the club does private flights when it's not legally allowed to, or that you thought it was a clever answer to give someone who made a perfectly reasonable enquiry?those friends that I do I don't ask to pay! Good for you! You're lucky to be in that position.
Many private pilots aren't as well off and share costs with friends who are willing and able to pay - to their mutual advantage.
Some couldn't afford to fly (or do as much flying) if they didn't do so.

FL

Lister Noble
20th Aug 2006, 13:17
FL,
I was not being flippant and am definitely not rich.