PDA

View Full Version : Please adivise: Logging of flight time question.

Jbroey3
4th Apr 2006, 17:59
Hello everyone,

I am an American pilot that has a friend from overseas (Italy) that has come
to "build time / gain training" to fullfill requirements of a school
that he is to attend in Spain.

He is a private pilot and does not hold an IR or multi-engine
rating.

I'm somewhat at a loss as to the correct answer to the questions that have arose.

The question below has been answered by the F.A.A side of things and the
result is "No he can not"
((As far as U.S. Regulations are concerened CFR 14, 61.51(e)(i)))

Here is the question:

QUESTION: Can a non-multi-engine rated private
pilot fly and log dual training received or PIC in a multi-engine aircraft
when the other pilot (safety pilot) holds only a commercial license? (ie, the
safety pilot is not a CFI/CFII/MEI)

He has been sharing his flying time (taking turns flying) with another pilot
here in America in a multi-engine aeroplane and has also been logging this
time in his logbook as PIC time to show he has been "trained" or to
show "aeronautical experience" etc.

He has not been flying "solo" in the multi-engine aeroplanes at anytime.

Will the J.A.A / J.A.R accept this time as authorized experience or
training??:confused:

If anyone can help me out with this, with reference as to why or why he is
not allowed to do what he is doing,.. that would would be wonderfull.

I don't want to see him waste money and time flying these aeroplanes only to
see that none of the time is valid/acceptable to the JAA side of things over
in spain.

Thank you in advance for any help that anyone may be able to give.

-Jbroey3

Polarhero
4th Apr 2006, 18:56
I think the only way to answer this in nice and easy........ NO! not a chance.

And one other item on top if he was to log it and the power that don't put two and two togeather you could end up in the :mad: