Go Back  PPRuNe Forums > PPRuNe Worldwide > USA
Reload this Page >

US Cessna 402 Job for Expats ?

Wikiposts
Search

Notices
USA Still the busiest region for commercial aviation.

US Cessna 402 Job for Expats ?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 3rd April 2018 | 12:02
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Aviation Qualifications: ATPL
Posts: 3,689
Likes: 118
From: USA
US Cessna 402 Job for Expats ?

Saw this ad for C402 pilots...making some "interesting" comments. Any info on this ?:

"To address a pilot shortage in the U.S., OMS recently launched a program to recruit experienced foreign fixed wing pilots to work in the U.S., and in the process, be eligible to receive a green card for themselves and their family members."

https://jobs.flightglobal.com/job/14...2-captain-usa/

The first C402 operator coming to mind is Cape Air but their pilot recruitment web pages say nothing about expats...just "valid passport":

https://www.capeairpilots.com/requirements
bafanguy is offline  
Reply
Old 9th April 2018 | 15:44
  #2 (permalink)  
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 326
Likes: 1
From: World citizen
Would also be interested ... Any update ?
dan1165 is offline  
Reply
Old 9th April 2018 | 17:35
  #3 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
From: Ormond Beach
It's an FLL-area phone number. I find the idea of any of South Florida's glorious charter operators sponsoring people for a Green Card somewhat far-fetched...


Some of them balk at replacing alternators, so...
flyboyike is offline  
Reply
Old 9th April 2018 | 18:43
  #4 (permalink)  
10 Anniversary
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,305
Likes: 35
From: Vietnam
Whilst I don't think it's a "scam" they do want you pay them $38k over 2 years. The address is for the office of an immigration laywer/ambulance chaser.
pilotchute is offline  
Reply
Old 10th April 2018 | 15:05
  #5 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Aviation Qualifications: ATPL
Posts: 3,689
Likes: 118
From: USA
Originally Posted by flyboyike
I find the idea of any of South Florida's glorious charter operators sponsoring people for a Green Card somewhat far-fetched...
Yep, it does have an unusual ring to it. I'd be curious to know for whom they're recruiting expats.
bafanguy is offline  
Reply
Old 13th April 2018 | 09:34
  #6 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,780
Likes: 0
From: Surrounded by aluminum, and the great outdoors
Originally Posted by bafanguy
Yep, it does have an unusual ring to it. I'd be curious to know for whom they're recruiting expats.
they probably aren't....a scam to get suckers to fork over cash
ironbutt57 is offline  
Reply
Old 14th April 2018 | 09:33
  #7 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
From: Middle East
Originally Posted by bafanguy
Yep, it does have an unusual ring to it. I'd be curious to know for whom they're recruiting expats.
It’s a company called Overseas Manpower Solutions, claiming to get you a gig driving C402’s out of Barnstable for Cape Air Services. $3000 up front payment for their services and another $38400 over 4 years, and achieving a Green Card in the process.

Of course their website is plastered with “wonderful tales” of expats now living the American Dream and thanking OMS. Anybody heard of these guys or perhaps flown with a colleague who’s used them.

I’m always cautious/suspicious of any company requesting cash upfront in return for a green card......
Fuzuma is offline  
Reply
Old 14th April 2018 | 10:27
  #8 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Aviation Qualifications: ATPL
Posts: 3,689
Likes: 118
From: USA
Originally Posted by Fuzuma
I’m always cautious/suspicious of any company requesting cash upfront in return for a green card......
Fuz,

I guess I would be too. ~$40K is a lot of money. I can't even pretend to understand all this green card/visa stuff.

I'd like to hear what Cape Air has to say about this affiliation with OMS.
bafanguy is offline  
Reply
Old 14th April 2018 | 18:31
  #9 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
From: Middle East
Well if you gents and ladies happen to stumble upon any info, or anybody that may have dealt with OMS, I would greatly appreciate the feedback.....
Fuzuma is offline  
Reply
Old 14th April 2018 | 20:19
  #10 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Aviation Qualifications: ATPL
Posts: 3,689
Likes: 118
From: USA
Originally Posted by Fuzuma
Well if you gents and ladies happen to stumble upon any info, or anybody that may have dealt with OMS, I would greatly appreciate the feedback.....
I wonder if contacting Cape Air directly to ask if they're in fact hiring expats via OMS would work. Found this...not much info without having an account with this company:

http://www.myvisajobs.com/H1B-Visa/S...=2017&CI=93034

I assume green cards aren't handed out in short order (even to those ultimately eligible ) so how are these C402 pilots hired in the meantime ?
bafanguy is offline  
Reply
Old 14th April 2018 | 21:37
  #11 (permalink)  
Longtimelurker
 
Joined: Nov 1998
Posts: 393
Likes: 0
From: killington Vt
Most people ( all non pilots) I know didn't pay anything close to 38000$ for a green card. This sounds like a ripoff or at minimum a pay to fly operation. Proceed with caution !!!!!!
filejw is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.