Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Spectators Balcony (Spotters Corner) If you're not a professional pilot but want to discuss issues about the job, this is the best place to loiter. You won't be moved on by 'security' and there'll be plenty of experts to answer any questions.

Curious diversion

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 20th June 2015 | 07:39
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
From: Arab
Curious diversion

I just saw a BA 737 approaching Biggin Hill and on checking it seems to be kosher, BA2759 from Amsterdam diverted to BQH from LGW. I wasn't aware that Biggin had become a viable alternative for Airliners. Anyone know why etc ?
storydews is offline  
Reply
Old 20th June 2015 | 08:37
  #2 (permalink)  
Community Builder
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 17,738
Likes: 2,119
From: Reading, UK
BA2759 isn't due to depart from Amsterdam until 09:25 UK time (about 10 minutes ago).
DaveReidUK is offline  
Reply
Old 20th June 2015 | 08:50
  #3 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 8,266
Likes: 1
From: Berkshire, UK
There was an almost identical post on here a few weeks ago!
HEATHROW DIRECTOR is offline  
Reply
Old 20th June 2015 | 09:00
  #4 (permalink)  
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,038
Likes: 0
From: NI
G-DOCF does not have ADS-B so its position is determined by FR24 using MLAT, which can be out of whack by a few km.

Combined with FR24's aggressive new route-updating algorithm ( which dispenses with human common sense ) this results in all sorts of nonsense.

Did you know that several TNT Stansted-rostered freighter routes actually commence from Biggin Hill? Of course they don't, but FR24 sees them low near Biggin and puts 2 + 2 together...
El Bunto is offline  
Reply
Old 20th June 2015 | 09:21
  #5 (permalink)  
Community Builder
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 17,738
Likes: 2,119
From: Reading, UK
Originally Posted by HEATHROW DIRECTOR
There was an almost identical post on here a few weeks ago!
Well spotted, I thought it rang a bell.

It was indeed identical: http://www.pprune.org/spectators-bal...ml#post9000238
DaveReidUK is offline  
Reply
Old 20th June 2015 | 09:54
  #6 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 8,266
Likes: 1
From: Berkshire, UK
So, is storydews really Spring-heeled Jack?
HEATHROW DIRECTOR is offline  
Reply
Old 20th June 2015 | 10:12
  #7 (permalink)  
Hippopotomonstrosesquipidelian title
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,825
Likes: 1
From: is everything
Originally Posted by HEATHROW DIRECTOR
So, is storydews really Spring-heeled Jack?
Probably a linkspammer; signed up on other forums around the same time. e.g. mql5.com and ytmnd. On thebuddybots doing the same repost method in Korean. Only spent a minute on it, so there may be errors in the details.
Bushfiva is offline  
Reply
Old 20th June 2015 | 12:43
  #8 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,156
Likes: 113
From: There and here
So, is storydews really Spring-heeled Jack?
There is only one SpringHeeledJack sir! However, this curious reposting of a thread I started has allowed the overuse of the Smilie by certain posters

For those of an IT bent, why has this thread been copied by whomever, who has joined up to pprune, and then duplicated within the forum ? It doesn't seem to make any sense as there's seemingly little to gain


SHJ
SpringHeeledJack is offline  
Reply
Old 20th June 2015 | 13:09
  #9 (permalink)  
Hippopotomonstrosesquipidelian title
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,825
Likes: 1
From: is everything
See the post immediately above yours.
Bushfiva is offline  
Reply
Old 20th June 2015 | 13:31
  #10 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 172
Likes: 0
From: Leeds
"Probably a linkspammer; signed up on other forums around the same time. e.g. mql5.com and ytmnd. On thebuddybots doing the same repost method in Korean."


Yes, I do it all the time. It's great fun.
BKS Air Transport is offline  
Reply
Old 20th June 2015 | 15:21
  #11 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,156
Likes: 113
From: There and here
I'm still not much the wiser mr bushfiva. Is this a person or a bot ? What does a linkspammer gain from this exercise ? A mal-intentioned redirection ?


SHJ
SpringHeeledJack is offline  
Reply
Old 21st June 2015 | 01:44
  #12 (permalink)  
Hippopotomonstrosesquipidelian title
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,825
Likes: 1
From: is everything
In this case, it looks like the group are promoting an on-line movie streaming site, using mlq5 as the unwitting gatekeeper. Perhaps first posters on PpRune don't get to put links in their posts. This ID registered on some 40 sites yesterday, with varying degrees of success. The group has posted maybe 2400 to 10,000 links in the past few days that have been indexed.

Last edited by Bushfiva; 21st June 2015 at 01:50. Reason: Enough "maybes" for one day.
Bushfiva is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.