Wikiposts
Search
Flying Instructors & Examiners A place for instructors to communicate with one another because some of them get a bit tired of the attitude that instructing is the lowest form of aviation, as seems to prevail on some of the other forums!

FAA Aerodynamics

Search this Thread

Old 5th Aug 2006, 19:14

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
FAA Aerodynamics

I have some comments about incorrect aerodynamic theory appearing in the FAA question banks. I also refer to the FAA "Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge" which I downloaded here:

http://www.faa.gov/library/manuals/a...ilot_handbook/

Having reviewed this information and the CFI question bank, (which I am currently studying), I am sorry to say that there are some important fundamental errors in both texts, in particular where concerned with the interpretation and application of Bernoulli's theorems.

Between pages 2.1 to 2.8 of the pilot handbook there are various inaccuracies which I have paraphrased for brevity below, together with links to articles from NASA which set the record straight. These include:
... etc

Some of these inaccuracies have been translated into questions for the FAA question bank, which serve to thouroughly confuse and mislead the candidate. Here are some examples from the CFI Question bank:

http://www.faa.gov/education_researc.../media/cfi.pdf

-------------------------
EDIT 09 Aug 2006: Due to some very polite feedback I've received in the following discussion, I should mention that The "Correct" answers which I listed below in my original post are actually my own - and I can't say for sure that I am actually correct! It's just my take on them - trying to make sense of a set of questions which don't add up to me. Please read "Suggest" for the reasons given. Apologies for sounding a bit too sure of myself!!! I am always open to (and encourage) others challenging me on this... and indeed this is partly the point of this thread - so we can all benefit from the wisdom of others.