Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

Pprune site - re-directs.

Old 22nd November 2017 | 09:06
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 317
Likes: 0
From: Here
Pprune site - re-directs.

I've found over the last couple of days that whilst browsing the Prune website site 'suddenly' the screen is apparently directed to a couple of unwanted websites.

I am literally just sitting here, reading a thread with my hands nowhere near the key board and suddenly the page switches to a couple of unwanted sites. The first site tells me that my Mac is infected yada yada, the second that I have visited a porn site site and that this website (pornscubber.com) can get rid of something or other.

Now, I haven't ever, ever visited any sort of 'naughty' website and I don't ever click knowingly on any links on the Prune website. i don't have any form of email on the iMac. I don't have any form of interest security on the iMac since opinion seems to be vary varied as to whether the iMac needs it or not.

I cannot use the 'back key' to get away from the unwanted webpages, but going back to say favourites and simply clicking on Prune gets me back to a clean page.

Is it just me?
yellowtriumph is offline  
Reply
Old 22nd November 2017 | 09:44
  #2 (permalink)  
Chief Tardis Technician
 
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 554
Likes: 0
From: Western Australia S31.715 E115.737
do a google on pornscrubber, the answers are out there.

How to Remove Porn Scrubber - Virus Solution and Removal
Avtrician is offline  
Reply
Old 22nd November 2017 | 19:04
  #3 (permalink)  
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: Jul 1999
Posts: 3,933
Likes: 143
From: Warrington, UK
I've had this problem, as have many. It sounds like you've got some malware. Download Malwarebytes and run it. The free version should be sufficient.
https://www.malwarebytes.com/mac/
MightyGem is offline  
Reply
Old 23rd November 2017 | 17:30
  #4 (permalink)  
Thought police antagonist
Community Builder
Community Influencer
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Aviation Qualifications: LAME
Posts: 1,574
Likes: 349
From: Where I always have been...firmly in the real world
Pprune security issues ?

I would like to add to this thread please.

Today, I have been viewing this site when the page has vanished and been replaced with a " Microsoft Warning " in the first instance with a synthetic female voice, in the second with a male. The page format has varied, slightly, each time, but trying to click "cancel" has no effect. The only answer is to shut down and restart.

I have been urged to contact, on an 0800 number, Microsoft engineers or my PC will be shut down as it has, allegedly, been hacked.

I have carried out a full security scan, I use Norton and BT also contributes a they are my ISP and there are no security issues shown.

This page intrusion only occurs here, on this site, NO other sites bring it up.

I have declined this offer because it sounds remarkably like a scam unless anybody can advise otherwise that is. But it would be interesting to hear if anybody else has experienced the same or similar.
Krystal n chips is offline  
Reply
Old 23rd November 2017 | 19:28
  #5 (permalink)  
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: May 1999
Aviation Qualifications: ATP+Mil
Posts: 27,397
Likes: 857
From: Quite near 'An aerodrome somewhere in England'
IT'S A SCAM - IGNORE IT!!

I had that thing on a PPRuNe site recently - my suspicion being that it's embedded in one of the plethora of adverts which these days plague this website...

I couldn't close the browser either, so shut down, rebooted and did a full antivirus scam using the latest Trend Micro definitions - no horrors found.
BEagle is offline  
Reply
Old 23rd November 2017 | 20:03
  #6 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 206
Likes: 31
From: Canada
Add an ad blocker to your browser, problem solved. Why anyone browses forums of any kind without an ad blocker...??
Zombywoof is offline  
Reply
Old 23rd November 2017 | 21:38
  #7 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 565
Likes: 21
From: Passed away on Sept 6th
Likewise, got the same threatening pop-ups, which spooked me more than somewhat.
And no I didn't re-instal an adblocker after my recent crash because there were so many things hanging around that speed was beginning to be affected... and I do take the point that the advertisers are helping to finance this site.
But *Mods* can you advise one of the IB boys and girls please, asking them to find out who is doing this scam?
jimtherev is offline  
Reply
Old 23rd November 2017 | 22:10
  #8 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 206
Likes: 31
From: Canada
Originally Posted by jimtherev
I do take the point that the advertisers are helping to finance this site.
Running an ad blocker might have been guilt inducing back in the Danny days. Those days are long gone; I doubt IB is hurting for cash. If they're going to run ads that contain harmful javascript, why should you feel guilty about refusing to view them?
Zombywoof is offline  
Reply
Old 24th November 2017 | 08:40
  #9 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,003
Likes: 16
From: Here
But *Mods* can you advise one of the IB boys and girls please, asking them to find out who is doing this scam?

My guess is that the ads are hosted on external sites which in turn may link on elsewhere. I doubt very much that there will be any interest in following up.

I view an ad blocker as an essential security tool. e.g. A big US newspaper that I read on-line has about 70 blocked ads on the page. Each of them may in turn link on elsewhere. My view is that I am reducing my risk of bumping into some malicious code on that site by a factor of over 70 by using an ad blocker.

Of course the ad blocker itself is a risk .........
jimjim1 is offline  
Reply
Old 24th November 2017 | 08:52
  #10 (permalink)  
Administrator
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 8,121
Likes: 686
From: Twickenham, home of rugby
But *Mods* can you advise one of the IB boys and girls please, asking them to find out who is doing this scam?
Done yesterday, Jim.

SD
Saab Dastard is offline  
Reply
Old 24th November 2017 | 14:55
  #11 (permalink)  
10 Anniversary
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 822
Likes: 0
From: Hampshire
As a user of Firefox, I was pleased when I installed the latest update. Then I quickly found the down side; NoScript was no longer working and I was horrified at the time taken for these pages to load.I was looking for a vacuum gauge recently and now Google is hijacking the top 3 or 4 inches of each page with advertisements for vacuum gauges and each page takes an age to load, presumably while Google looks up my recent search history, then contacting the relevant potential suppliers etc etc.
The good news is that NoScript now has a version compatible with the latest Firefox, so a fix will soon be organised!
KelvinD is offline  
Reply
Old 28th November 2017 | 15:04
  #12 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 7,176
Likes: 297
From: Nanaimo (CAC8)
KelvinD,

I suggest you give up on Google and try DuckDuckGo:http://DuckDuckGo.com
India Four Two is offline  
Reply
Old 28th November 2017 | 16:33
  #13 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Nov 2015
Posts: 317
Likes: 0
From: Here
More unwanted pop ups today - suggesting I have won some sort of competition.

Again, only when I visit this site.
yellowtriumph is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.