Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

ca.js trojan on Pprune?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 1st October 2012 | 11:49
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 816
Likes: 0
From: UK
ca.js trojan on Pprune?

Today when I open a page on pprune (only) I often get an open/save dialogue box for ca.js which would seem to be a trojan (and obviosly I do not open or save). Anybody else getting this? Is this emanating from some of the adverts on pprune? I have up to date anti-virus software running.

Encyclopedia Search Results: JS/Redirector - Learn more about malware - Microsoft Malware Protection Center


Screenshot:


Last edited by Torque Tonight; 1st October 2012 at 11:57.
Torque Tonight is offline  
Reply
Old 1st October 2012 | 18:25
  #2 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 816
Likes: 0
From: UK
Just been using a different computer and sure enough on pprune only I'm getting these dialogue boxes. Both computers are clean according to Norton and Malwarebytes. Seems to be something nasty lurking in pprune today.

Now also jload.js from pixel.adsafeprotected.com. Excellent.

Last edited by Torque Tonight; 1st October 2012 at 18:29.
Torque Tonight is offline  
Reply
Old 1st October 2012 | 18:53
  #3 (permalink)  
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 1999
Posts: 1,513
Likes: 43
From: In my own little world
You're not alone, I've been getting the second for a couple of hours.
lurkio is offline  
Reply
Old 1st October 2012 | 19:02
  #4 (permalink)  
More bang for your buck
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,513
Likes: 1
From: land of the clanger
Block all coms with the site amazonaws.com (google it)
green granite is offline  
Reply
Old 1st October 2012 | 20:22
  #5 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,663
Likes: 0
From: Earth
Block all coms with the site amazonaws.com
Talk about using a sledgehammer to crack a nut !

Amazonaws? The Amazon cloud ? Given Amazon is one of the largest cloud providers, you could find yourself blocking more than you set out to !
mixture is offline  
Reply
Old 1st October 2012 | 20:46
  #6 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,173
Likes: 0
From: .
have any of you reported this to Clee?
No point just complaining here if you don't tell the sysadmins
Milo Minderbinder is offline  
Reply
Old 1st October 2012 | 20:58
  #7 (permalink)  
Administrator
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 8,121
Likes: 686
From: Twickenham, home of rugby
have any of you reported this to Clee?
No point just complaining here if you don't tell the sysadmins
I have already done so, linking to this thread.

When the US west coast wakes up I'm sure they will be onto it!

SD
Saab Dastard is offline  
Reply
Old 1st October 2012 | 21:34
  #8 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 816
Likes: 0
From: UK
Thank you Saab.
Torque Tonight is offline  
Reply
Old 2nd October 2012 | 23:38
  #9 (permalink)  
Guest
10 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 673
Likes: 0
From: El Segundo
Thanks for the reports, guys. We haven't been able to see this issue here, so we need more data.

The two things we're seeking are the sources of the Javascript files (so far you guys have reported choices.truste.com and pixel.adsafeprotected.com), and what ads are on the page when you see these popups, as they are most likely coming from ads.

We don't recommend blocking the entire Amazon cloud, as you will likely end up blocking many sites, big and small, that use the Amazon cloud for hosting.
BrandiNettIB is offline  
Reply
Old 3rd October 2012 | 17:19
  #10 (permalink)  
Guest
10 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 673
Likes: 0
From: El Segundo
Just be on the safe side, I had one of our developers scan the site code to see if anything got injected into it. He didn't find anything and believes this is an issue with Internet Explorer 9. If you're experiencing the issue, try using another browser and seeing if the issue clears up. If not, let us know the ad that's on the page (name of advertiser and link the ad goes to), as well as the source of the JS file, and we'll take a look.

EDIT TO ADD:
For what it's worth, Google Safe Browsing diagnostic shows both above reported JS sources to be safe:

Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for pixel.adsafeprotected.com
Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for choices.truste.com
BrandiNettIB is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.