Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

Malware on PPJN?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 29th June 2010 | 13:42
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
From: Yorkshire
Malware on PPJN?

Everytime I try logging into ppjn.com my browser shouts at me saying that this site hosts Malware.
Not great. Anyone know what the malware is? Is it harmful?
YorkshireT is offline  
Reply
Old 29th June 2010 | 16:26
  #2 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,663
Likes: 0
From: Earth
Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for ppjn.com

Alternative points of view...

Norton Safe Web, from Symantec - report for ppjn.com

ppjn.com | McAfee SiteAdvisor Software ? Website Safety Ratings and Secure Search

AVG Online Virus Scanner | Scan Web Pages | AVG LinkScanner Drop Zone

Or one tool that appears to be able to summarise some of the above....

Online Link Scan - Virus, Trojan, Adware and Malware Scanner


Caveat emptor.

Last edited by mixture; 29th June 2010 at 16:42.
mixture is offline  
Reply
Old 29th June 2010 | 16:29
  #3 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 805
Likes: 0
From: U.K.
Well, I am using IE8 with Crawler installed. It has no objection to www.ppjn.com and I know for a fact that my free copy of AVAST is very good at blocking sites containing viruses. That software made not a murmer either. Sounds like it is something you have (inadvertantly) downloaded which doesn't want you to look at that site.

P.P.
P.Pilcher is offline  
Reply
Old 30th June 2010 | 06:27
  #4 (permalink)  
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,694
Likes: 15
From: Wellington,NZ
I'm using Firefox 3.6, and any attempt to connect to the site linked above returns a simple message stating it has been reported as an attack site and blocked.
Doesn't mean it's hosting malware right now, of course, only that it has done. Most likely unintentionally.
Tarq57 is offline  
Reply
Old 30th June 2010 | 08:47
  #5 (permalink)  

Official PPRuNe Chaplain
 
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,498
Likes: 0
From: Witnesham, Suffolk
I just clicked on ppjn.com and got a red block telling me that
"This web page at www.ppjn.com has been reported as an attack page and has been blocked based on your security preferences."

I don't take the risk with pages like that.
Keef is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.