Download Cave Scam Alert
Thread Starter
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,372
Likes: 1
From: Asia
Download Cave Scam Alert
Download Cave
These guys may show up in your search results, stay away it's a total scam.
WhoIs Download Cave - downloadcave.com
Go to their home page and type in anything you like, I tried "Under water welding in ancient Egypt" and sure enough it's available if you join up.
These guys may show up in your search results, stay away it's a total scam.
WhoIs Download Cave - downloadcave.com
Go to their home page and type in anything you like, I tried "Under water welding in ancient Egypt" and sure enough it's available if you join up.
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 10,804
Likes: 1
aye you do. Sys admin will let things mess with your browser with add ons. Will also allow scripts to alter your rooting tables.
Make changes in your hosts.
Crack on.
I can count on two hands the number of times I have logged on to a unix box as root from the log in frontend. And they are all during builds before it gets connected to a network.
Just because your on linux or Unix doesn't protect you from all attacks.
Make changes in your hosts.
Crack on.
I can count on two hands the number of times I have logged on to a unix box as root from the log in frontend. And they are all during builds before it gets connected to a network.
Just because your on linux or Unix doesn't protect you from all attacks.
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1
Likes: 0
From: Johannesburg, South Africa
Download Cave Alert!
I have a nasty feeling that I have been stung by this lot! Does anyone know how to contact Download Cave telephonically, considering that their (e-mail) "Support Center" does not exist?
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,663
Likes: 0
From: Earth
The name "Download Cave" alone should be ringing very loud bells in anyone's mind anyway ! 

Sounds like a warez site to me, and probably is...... guess I'll never know because you'll never find me clicking on such a dodgy sounding link.


Sounds like a warez site to me, and probably is...... guess I'll never know because you'll never find me clicking on such a dodgy sounding link.
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 436
Likes: 0
From: Patterson, NY
mixture: Smart move. And, yes, the name alone should ring alarm bells.
FWIW: I did a bit of investigating on my own and found that the domain name - downloadcave.com - is registered to a user in Russia. 'Nuf said.
FWIW: I did a bit of investigating on my own and found that the domain name - downloadcave.com - is registered to a user in Russia. 'Nuf said.





