Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

Rejected email

Old 2nd January 2010 | 11:43
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 3,052
Likes: 0
From: In transit
Rejected email

I sent an email and got the following reject message. It wasn't a bulk email or spam, just an enquiry. I assume that this company's ISP or domain systematically rejects email from the .btinternet.com domain. Is my assumption correct, and if so, why? (I'm not taking 196.211.25.82 does not like recipient personally!)

I tried sending it from Outlook Express and also direct from the web interface and got the same response. I re-sent it from my Gmail account and although I've not had a reply it does not seem to have been rejected.

Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<[email protected]>:
196.211.25.82 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 554 5.7.1 btinternet.com is blacklisted.
Giving up on 196.211.25.82.
Capetonian is offline  
Reply
Old 2nd January 2010 | 12:10
  #2 (permalink)  
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 216
Likes: 0
From: United Kingdom
Capetonian

It seems that the mail service provider (mailserver - ccd.co.za) has blacklisted any mail from btinterent IP address ranges.

IP Address Lookup


Possibly IS Internet Solutions SA ...

mail.ultraliquors.co.za

Somewhat unwise of them as I am sure that their customers will be sorry to lose business from clients subscribing to the most dominant fixed line and broadband provider in the UK!

NF

Last edited by Cacophonix; 2nd January 2010 at 12:41.
Cacophonix is offline  
Reply
Old 2nd January 2010 | 12:48
  #3 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 3,052
Likes: 0
From: In transit
Thanks, Namibfox. If they don't want my order of 6-10 cases of Shiraz, fine, but to be fair I don't expect they get many customers using btinternet addresses (in fact they won't get any ...!)
Capetonian is offline  
Reply
Old 2nd January 2010 | 13:43
  #4 (permalink)  
More bang for your buck
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,513
Likes: 1
From: land of the clanger
Try sending them an E-Mail using a proxy server, pointing out they've just lost a very large order.
green granite is offline  
Reply
Old 6th January 2010 | 07:44
  #5 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
From: In the sun
Could it be a problem with Yahoo? Yahoo provide the mail services for BTIntenet.

Whilst Yahoo are trying their best to block Spam the methods they used are widely critcised in computer industry for blocking genuine mail as well as spam. 3 ISP's that I have been with all report this problem and say that there is nothing they can do about it, it is Yahoo's problem.

How about sending them an email using their online form?
WetFeet is offline  
Reply
Old 6th January 2010 | 08:24
  #6 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 3,052
Likes: 0
From: In transit
Thanks, but I also tried using the web form and got the same reject. I think that the system is blocking emails from the @btinternet.com domain, regardless of the ISP origin, as I wasn't using btinternet as my ISP.
Capetonian is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.