Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

Domain name transfer?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 25th January 2009 | 20:16
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 643
Likes: 30
From: Global Vagabond
Domain name transfer?

Hi all,

mini received the following in his in box, refers to my company's website. Can anyone explain what is going on? is this normal? should I agree?

"Attention: XXX,

Re: Transfer of XXX.com

BRANDON GRAY INTERNET SERVICES INC. dba Namejuice.com has received a request from Domain Registry of America on 1/12/2009 5:27:35 AM for us to become the new registrar of record.

You have received this message because you are listed as the Registered Name Holder or Administrative contact for this domain name in the WHOIS database.

Please read the following important information about transferring your domain name:

1) You must agree to enter into a new Registration Agreement with us. You can review the full terms and conditions of the Agreement at Brandon Gray Internet Services - NameJuice.com
2) Once you have entered into the Agreement, the transfer will take place within five (5) calendar days unless the current registrar of record denies the request.
3) Once a transfer takes place, you will not be able to transfer to another registrar for 60 days, apart from a transfer back to the original registrar,in cases where both registrars so agree or where a decision in the dispute resolution process so directs.

If you WISH TO PROCEED with the transfer, you must respond to this message via one of the following methods (note if you do not respond by Friday, January 30, 2009, XXX.com will not be transferred to us.)."


Thanks, mini.
mini is offline  
Reply
Old 25th January 2009 | 20:52
  #2 (permalink)  
bnt
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 755
Likes: 26
From: Dublin, Ireland. (No, I just live here.)
First: if there is a link in the email, DO NOT click it under any circumstances.

It reads like someone has gone to your existing registrar, and requested to transfer your domain to a new registrar. This is a request for confirmation: as the last paragraph says, if you do nothing else, nothing will happen.

A domain transfer can not happen unless the existing registrar makes the necessary changes to DNS, so that is usually where such a request is initiated. Are you able to get in to your existing domain registry account? If so, I suggest you change the password immediately, maybe contact them to see whether such a request was made, and by whom.
bnt is offline  
Reply
Old 25th January 2009 | 20:58
  #3 (permalink)  

'nough said
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,025
Likes: 0
From: Raynes Park
Originally Posted by bnt
I suggest you change the password immediately, maybe contact them to see whether such a request was made, and by whom.
And make sure the domain is in locked status (this prevents unauthorised transfers).

Domain registry of America is one huge scam by the way - do a Google on them for more info.
amanoffewwords is offline  
Reply
Old 25th January 2009 | 21:51
  #4 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 629
Likes: 0
From: UK.
Domain Registry of America do my head in, I get letters from them all the time about my domains.

I would lock your domains and delete the emails so they can't touch them.
preduk is offline  
Reply
Old 25th January 2009 | 22:16
  #5 (permalink)  
bnt
15 Anniversary
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 755
Likes: 26
From: Dublin, Ireland. (No, I just live here.)
I should have done a web search: this outfit is so notorious, there's a Wikipedia page about their scams. In this case, it looks like the "target" registrar is wise to them, and you can probably ignore this. Blah.
bnt is offline  
Reply
Old 26th January 2009 | 11:07
  #6 (permalink)  

'nough said
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,025
Likes: 0
From: Raynes Park
Originally Posted by bnt
In this case, it looks like the "target" registrar is wise to them
Not really, it's SOP (as laid out by ICANN & co.) to ask the owner of the domain to verify the transfer.

Which reminds me of another tip: keep you domain contact details up-to-date! In my case I have the owner details showing my client info (in case someone wishes to sue them for something!) and the tech contact info as myself to intercept the type of messages as above.

Having said that, one of my clients got fleeced over 70 notes (GBP) by DoA - she paid what she thought was an invoice (except that that they have complied with a court ruling and print a small "this is advertissement" message on their letters)

amofw
amanoffewwords is offline  
Reply
Old 2nd February 2009 | 21:36
  #7 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 643
Likes: 30
From: Global Vagabond
Endex... Thanks for the advice...

"Hello,

Per the e-mail below, the transfer of this domain has been cancelled.

Should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact
us using the information below.

Alex
Brandon Gray Internet Services, Inc. DBA Namejuice
Tel: +1.905.415.2681
Fax: +1.905.415.2682

XXX wrote:
> Get F*cked.
>
> No change in domain name registrar.
>
> XXX."

Cheers mini.
mini is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.