Can't post Thunder and Lightnings URL
Thread Starter
Joined: Jun 2002
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 7,176
Likes: 297
From: Nanaimo (CAC8)
Can't post Thunder and Lightnings URL
Does anyone know why when I try to post this URL - http: // www dot thunder-and-lightnings dot co dot uk/, it shows up like this?
http://www.******************************/
http://www.******************************/
Last edited by India Four Two; 6th July 2008 at 14:05.
Administrator
Joined: Mar 2001
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 8,121
Likes: 686
From: Twickenham, home of rugby
Interesting one, this!
If you ping the URL, it resolves to 80.82.115.66. However, if you load 80.82.115.66 into your browser, it arrives to a server default page, because the hosting company is using some mechanism to host multiple sites at one address (possibly host headers).
Now what seems to be happening with PPRuNe is that the link URL is tested in some way, perhaps as an anti-hijacking measure, and found to be "broken" - re-directed or malformed - so is then ** out.
It seems to me that one or other (or both) sites is mis-configured.
Bloody annoying!
If you ping the URL, it resolves to 80.82.115.66. However, if you load 80.82.115.66 into your browser, it arrives to a server default page, because the hosting company is using some mechanism to host multiple sites at one address (possibly host headers).
Now what seems to be happening with PPRuNe is that the link URL is tested in some way, perhaps as an anti-hijacking measure, and found to be "broken" - re-directed or malformed - so is then ** out.
It seems to me that one or other (or both) sites is mis-configured.
Bloody annoying!

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 1,535
Likes: 13
From: UK
Not sure it can be tested - unless this random site exists somewhere!
http://www.jgjhijdfg-oikjognidu.co.uk
http://www.jgjhijdfg-oikjognidu.co.uk
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 537
Likes: 0
From: Northampton UK
http://www.******************************
Nope doesn't work for me either.
Definitely looks like some sort of anti-spam mechanism.
RC
Nope doesn't work for me either.
Definitely looks like some sort of anti-spam mechanism.
RC
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 218
Likes: 0
From: Pfffft
I think it's more to do with the chap behind that website having a bit of an 'issue' with PPRuNe's owners a few years ago and being black-listed.
I could be be entirely wrong and have the websites/persons mixed up, but I've a faint memory of such things happening.
I could be be entirely wrong and have the websites/persons mixed up, but I've a faint memory of such things happening.

Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 1,535
Likes: 13
From: UK
Curiouser and curiouser - here are a couple of old threads - some with links that display but all with links that don't work. Watch the address the link is pointing to when you mouse over it.
http://www.pprune.org/forums/aviatio...ard-worcs.html
http://www.pprune.org/forums/profess...t-website.html
http://www.pprune.org/forums/aviatio...ard-worcs.html
http://www.pprune.org/forums/profess...t-website.html
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 368
Likes: 0
From: UK
Test post
http://******************************/
Daz
Umm not working for me either, I'm using Firefox2
http://******************************/
Daz
Umm not working for me either, I'm using Firefox2
Thread Starter
Joined: Jun 2002
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 7,176
Likes: 297
From: Nanaimo (CAC8)
Curiouser and curiouser - here are a couple of old threads
That's interesting. So even old links no longer work. Is this related to the change of ownership?




