Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

Trojan information required

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 16th December 2001 | 18:23
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 406
Likes: 0
From: Winchester.Hants.England
Post Trojan information required

I found the following Trojan on my computer and was wondering if anyone could throw any light on where it came from and what it does?

MALWARE.JS_PLAY.A

Thanks in anticipation

Flybywyre
Flybywyre is offline  
Old 16th December 2001 | 20:54
  #2 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 140
Likes: 0
From: STL
Post

FBW, the malware part is a generic reference. The JS ought to indicate that the virus is delivered by a scripting language -javascript - but java viruses have also been so-named.

You might want to contact Trend Micro and ask them why they dropped this pattern. See http://www.antivirus.com/vinfo/virus...Name=JS_PLAY.A

You didn't mention which virus checker you used. If you have not already deleted the malware then you might want to send it to mcafee or symantec. I don't use either of their checkers but they have always cheerfully looked at the samples I have sent them. Frisk in Iceland is especially helpful. HTH
bblank is offline  
Old 17th December 2001 | 15:21
  #3 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 406
Likes: 0
From: Winchester.Hants.England
Post

Thanks BB...........

I used "Trend" to detect the Trojan. It picked it up on a standard virus scan. I will Email them and see why they have dropped it from their list and post the reply on here.
I assume that no harm has been done.

Regards
FBW
Flybywyre is offline  
Old 19th December 2001 | 21:29
  #4 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 406
Likes: 0
From: Winchester.Hants.England
Post

Reply from Trend........

" Thank you for contacting the Virus Doctor @ Trend Micro. We received your email regarding your concern.

We have dropped the pattern JS_PLAY.A within our pattern file beginning with 968 that means this is no longer exist since we have renamed the virus as JS_EXCEPTION.GEN. "

They have asked me to send them the virus in a zip file for examination and to answer my further questions, such as what did this virus do to my computer?
The virus was eliminated so I am unable to do that...I have notified Trend and will post anything else they send me of interest.
Regards
FBW
Flybywyre is offline  
Old 19th December 2001 | 23:32
  #5 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 140
Likes: 0
From: STL
Post

FBW, I bet it's the "coolsite" js worm. If you use MSIE did it change your start page to a porn site?

If so then it is nondestructive malware and ridding yourself of the file and changing your MSIE start page cures everything. However, you should correct your system to avoid further expolits.
<a href="http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/js.exception.exploit.html" target="_blank">http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/js.exception.exploit.html</a>
bblank is offline  
Old 20th December 2001 | 03:29
  #6 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 406
Likes: 0
From: Winchester.Hants.England
Post

Hello BB

I do use MSIE and the only sign of anything being wrong was that the text (font) on sites I was viewing would change.

Regards
FBW

PS I'm still non the wiser as to what damage-if any, that this has done to my computer?

[ 19 December 2001: Message edited by: Flybywyre ]</p>
Flybywyre is offline  
Old 20th December 2001 | 04:16
  #7 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 140
Likes: 0
From: STL
Post

FBW, maybe that is what Trend Micro refers to as "changing the appearance of MSIE". Here is the URL for their page
<a href="http://www.antivirus.com/vinfo/virusencyclo/default5.asp?VName=JS_EXCEPTION.GEN" target="_blank">http://www.antivirus.com/vinfo/virusencyclo/default5.asp?VName=JS_EXCEPTION.GEN</a>

In answer to your question about damage, there is none. This malware is about as benign as they come. It's more the work of a prankster than a juvenile delinquent. Notwithstanding, do install Microsoft's patch because more malicious java applets can exploit the very same security gap. There is a link from the Symantec URL given above.
-- BB
bblank is offline  
Old 22nd December 2001 | 23:50
  #8 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 406
Likes: 0
From: Winchester.Hants.England
Thumbs up

Brian Blank...........

Thanks for your help and information

Regards
FBW
Flybywyre is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.