Go Back  PPRuNe Forums > Misc. Forums > Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting
Reload this Page >

This is a new one. To me anyway.

Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

This is a new one. To me anyway.

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 7th November 2007 | 01:49
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
Psychophysiological entity
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Jun 2001
Aviation Qualifications: ATPL
Posts: 3,383
Likes: 169
From: Walton on the Naze Essex.
This is a new one. To me anyway.

This popped up as a Skype window. It showed the blank face as 'System Scan'

It's convincing inasmuch that it's built into Skype in a very professional way, but then I've seen some real dandy scams.

What think you?




WINDOWS REQUIRES IMMEDIATE ATTENTION
=============================

ATTENTION ! Security Center has detected
malware on your computer !

Affected Software:

Microsoft Windows NT Workstation
Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0
Microsoft Windows 2000
Microsoft Windows XP
Microsoft Windows Win98
Microsoft Windows Server 2003

Impact of Vulnerability: Remote Code Execution / Virus Infection /
Unexpected shutdowns

Recommendation: Users running vulnerable version should install a repair
utility immediately

Your system IS affected, download the patch from the address below !
Failure to do so may result in severe computer malfunction.

http www .alertmonitor.org / ? q = updatescan

Edited by Saab Dastard to disable the link
Loose rivets is offline  
Reply
Old 7th November 2007 | 02:46
  #2 (permalink)  
Hippopotomonstrosesquipidelian title
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,825
Likes: 1
From: is everything
It's spam. Don't follow the link. If you do, it does a fake scan of your computer.
Bushfiva is offline  
Reply
Old 7th November 2007 | 09:07
  #3 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 164
Likes: 0
From: 8 dme 06L EGCC
Do people still believe Pop-ups.
Devlin Carnet is offline  
Reply
Old 7th November 2007 | 10:18
  #4 (permalink)  
 
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
From: UK
There are many similar messages a common one referes to a corrupt registry .
However getting rid of them can be very timeconsuming !
HuntandFish is offline  
Reply
Old 7th November 2007 | 10:28
  #5 (permalink)  
Chief Tardis Technician
 
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 554
Likes: 0
From: Western Australia S31.715 E115.737
Under no circumstances click on the link, it may do a scan, but it will probably want to install its own software. This will morethan likely introduce lots of problems.
Avtrician is offline  
Reply
Old 7th November 2007 | 16:31
  #6 (permalink)  
Thread Starter
Psychophysiological entity
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Jun 2001
Aviation Qualifications: ATPL
Posts: 3,383
Likes: 169
From: Walton on the Naze Essex.
Do people still believe Pop-ups.

Well, not in pop-ups per se, but when they ensconce themselves into the main skype interface, then I wondered who sent it.

I didn't wonder enough to open it though
Loose rivets is offline  
Reply
Old 7th November 2007 | 18:26
  #7 (permalink)  
Administrator
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 8,121
Likes: 686
From: Twickenham, home of rugby
I do advise everyone to operate an account at a User level, rather than Power User or Admin level to avoid inadvertently allowing any unwanted software installation.

SD
Saab Dastard is offline  
Reply
Old 7th November 2007 | 19:19
  #8 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 779
Likes: 0
From: Sunny Sussex
I have to say that is a great bit of advice. Getting rid of a borked profile is far preferable to an all day rebuild because you've downloaded a machine killer.
Parapunter is offline  
Reply
Old 7th November 2007 | 19:32
  #9 (permalink)  
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,694
Likes: 15
From: Wellington,NZ
Running Firefox with Noscript...page displayed but was prevented from loading anything. Looks like a variant of any number of trojan-based rogue antispywares available. Usually specialist cleaning is needed.
For anyone that has problems after clicking on the link, I recommend Superantispyware (like AdAware, but much better).
Could the OP please edit the link so that it displays but doesn't work. (hxxp://...is a good trick.)
Tarq57 is offline  
Reply
Old 7th November 2007 | 20:59
  #10 (permalink)  
Administrator
 
Joined: Mar 2001
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 8,121
Likes: 686
From: Twickenham, home of rugby
Could the OP please edit the link so that it displays but doesn't work.
Good idea, Tarq57 - I've taken the liberty of doing so on LR's behalf.

SD
Saab Dastard is offline  
Reply
Old 9th November 2007 | 22:54
  #11 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
From: The Netherlands
I got something similar recently. I was searching for some antispy software for a friend of mine and came accross a site (can't remember the linky) stating that my windows was infected with all manner of things. It urged me to click a link to scan my PC and free it of these terrible nasties. Out of curiosity I did. Moments later the site informed me that many of my windows system files were infected and helpfully gave me a list of the offending entries. This was interesting since I am running linux and don't have any of those files! So I guess the fable is be careful what you click- a lot of the time it's a scam as pointed out!
Lazy Gun is offline  
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.