BA site security certificate?
Thread Starter

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 438
Likes: 0
From: UK
BA site security certificate?
Hi I just looked at...
https://idtravel.ba.com
...and it came back with a security certificate error. It said it might be a different website pretending to be the BA site. Has anybody else seen this and know if it is safe to use it?
https://idtravel.ba.com
...and it came back with a security certificate error. It said it might be a different website pretending to be the BA site. Has anybody else seen this and know if it is safe to use it?
Administrator
Joined: Mar 2001
Aviation Qualifications: PPL
Posts: 8,121
Likes: 686
From: Twickenham, home of rugby
So it is issued to stafftravel.ba.com - that's still part of the ba.com domain, and is for the purposes of staff travel.
It is in date and issued by RSA (a genuine top-level CA).
No problem - but why not tell the webmaster that they have made a boo-boo with the site name?
Good on you for the caution, though.
SD
It is in date and issued by RSA (a genuine top-level CA).
No problem - but why not tell the webmaster that they have made a boo-boo with the site name?
Good on you for the caution, though.
SD
Thread Starter

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 438
Likes: 0
From: UK
I have just sent them an email! As you say, it does look like it is real. I suppose if it had been issued to a domain such as:
www.I'mgoingtostealyourinformation.com
then best to exercise caution
Thanks....
www.I'mgoingtostealyourinformation.com
then best to exercise caution

Thanks....




