Go Back  PPRuNe Forums > Misc. Forums > Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting
Reload this Page >

Virus Info, True or False, "Invitiation".

Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

Virus Info, True or False, "Invitiation".

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 10th March 2006 | 19:59
  #1 (permalink)  
BRL
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,068
Likes: 0
From: Brighton. UK. (Via Liverpool).
Virus Info, True or False, "Invitiation".

Just got this in an email, seems a bit panicky and along the same old lines as some of the older hoaxes. Can anyone shed any light on this please?

PLEASE FORWARD THIS WARNING AMONG FRIENDS, FAMILY AND CONTACTS:
You should be alert during the next days:
Do not open any message with an attached filed called "Invitation" regardless of who sent it.
It is a virus that opens an Olympic Torch, which "burns" the whole hard disc C of your computer. This virus will be received from someone who has your e-mail address in his/her contact list. that is why you should send this e-mail to all your contacts. It is better to receive this message 25 times than to receive the virus and open it.
If you receive a mail called "invitation", though sent by a friend, do not open it and shut down your computer immediately.
This is the worst virus announced by CNN, it has been classified by Microsoft as the most destructive virus ever.
This virus was discovered by McAfee yesterday, and there is no repair yet for this kind of virus.
This virus simply destroys the Zero Sector of the Hard Disc, where the vital information is kept.
SEND THIS E-MAIL TO EVERYONE YOU KNOW, COPY THIS E-MAIL AND SEND IT TO YOUR FRIENDS AND REMEMBER: IF YOU SEND IT TO THEM, YOU WILL BENEFIT ALL OF US
Thanks.
BRL is offline  
Old 10th March 2006 | 20:07
  #2 (permalink)  

Nice-but-dim
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 640
Likes: 0
From: Rural Yorkshire
We had a corporate warning about this one at work this week.

I took pleasure in bouncing it back with a link to snopes!
timmcat is offline  
Old 10th March 2006 | 20:09
  #3 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 542
Likes: 0
From: asia
Hoax

It's a hoax, been around in different guises since last century.
See:
http://urbanlegends.about.com/b/a/243068.htm
http://www.breakthechain.org/exclusi...mpicvirus.html
http://www.sophos.com/virusinfo/hoaxes/olympic.html
http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/invitation.asp
http://www.truthorfiction.com/rumors/i/invitation.htm

and so on
stickyb is offline  
Old 10th March 2006 | 20:28
  #4 (permalink)  
Per Ardua ad Astraeus
 
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 18,575
Likes: 4
From: UK
Same old advice, BRL, anything that starts
PLEASE FORWARD THIS WARNING AMONG FRIENDS, FAMILY AND CONTACTS
- almost certainly a hoax.
BOAC is offline  
Old 10th March 2006 | 20:31
  #5 (permalink)  
BRL
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,068
Likes: 0
From: Brighton. UK. (Via Liverpool).
Thank you.
BRL is offline  
Old 10th March 2006 | 22:09
  #6 (permalink)  
Too mean to buy a long personal title
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,981
Likes: 13
From: UK
Originally Posted by BOAC
Same old advice, BRL, anything that starts
PLEASE FORWARD THIS WARNING AMONG FRIENDS, FAMILY AND CONTACTS
- almost certainly a hoax.
And even if doesn't start with that, if it ends with:-
SEND THIS E-MAIL TO EVERYONE YOU KNOW
then it is DEFINITELY a hoax!
Globaliser is offline  
Old 11th March 2006 | 01:16
  #7 (permalink)  
TheVillagePhotographer.co.uk
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,078
Likes: 0
From: Cotswolds UK
Go with BOAC. Anything that requests your attention in this way, is almost definately a hoax or spam. Consign it to the bin, in the safe knowledge that anyone who really needs you will write back.

Conan
Conan the Librarian is offline  
Old 11th March 2006 | 04:51
  #8 (permalink)  

Plastic PPRuNer
25 Anniversary
 
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,902
Likes: 0
From: Rochechouart, France
Why are you opening strange emails anyway?

Mac the Knife is offline  
Old 11th March 2006 | 10:38
  #9 (permalink)  
Chief Tardis Technician
 
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 554
Likes: 0
From: Western Australia S31.715 E115.737
If everyone on email forwarded these warnings to everyone on their email lists, then the internet would choke on useless crap. Nearly as bad as denial attacks them selves.
Avtrician is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.