Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

New virus?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 3rd March 2004 | 20:48
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter

I'matightbastard
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,747
Likes: 0
From: Texas
Question New virus?

Sorry if this has been discussed before but...

I just got this email, supposedly from administrator @ yahoo.com

[colour=blue]Dear user of "Yahoo.com" mailing system,

Our antivirus software has detected a large ammount of viruses outgoing from your email account, you may use our free anti-virus tool to clean up your computer software.

For details see the attach.

Cheers,
The Yahoo.com team
[/colour]

It comes with an attachment called message.pif

So I have a few questions...
[list=1][*]Why did it end in my BULK folder if it really came from Yahoo?[*]what's a PIF file?[*]what happened to the button they used to have to report spam?[*]Am I right to be suspicious?[*]Anyone else get this?[*]Who says "Cheers" in an important email?[/list=1]

TIA
Onan the Clumsy is offline  
Old 3rd March 2004 | 21:17
  #2 (permalink)  
Too mean to buy a long personal title
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,981
Likes: 13
From: UK
.pif files commonly contain viruses, so yes, IMHO I think you are entirely right to be suspicious. If I were a betting man, etc.

In fact, you might want to forward the attachment (WITHOUT opening it) to one of the anti-virus houses - eg Symantec.
Globaliser is offline  
Old 3rd March 2004 | 21:17
  #3 (permalink)  
20 Anniversary
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 448
Likes: 0
From: London, UK
"Why did it end in my BULK folder if it really came from Yahoo?"

Because it almost certainly didn't. Can you PM me the headers ?

"what's a PIF file?"

Program Information File, very basically, used to tell Windows how to run another program. When you doulbe-click on a PIF file, it will run the program that it describes. But since the PIF doesn't contain the actual program (it kind-of points to the real code) it will not show up as a virus itself, which fools some AV software and even more people, which is why the virus writers use it, of course...

"what happened to the button they used to have to report spam?"

No idea -- don't use yahoo

"Am I right to be suspicious?"

Very But it's probably safe to just ignore / delete this one...

"Anyone else get this?"

Nope

"Who says "Cheers" in an important email?"

I might, but not in this case

Hope this helps a little

/RTFM

PS You need to spell it "[c o l o r =" not "[c o l o u r =" 'cos this software is American...
RomeoTangoFoxtrotMike is offline  
Old 3rd March 2004 | 21:54
  #4 (permalink)  
Thread Starter

I'matightbastard
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,747
Likes: 0
From: Texas
RTFM
PS You need to spell it "[c o l o r =" not "[c o l o u r =" 'cos this software is American...
Sorry, I thought I had, but I was running out the door when I typed it up this morning. I get sometimes.

Dunno how to get the headers from Yahoo
Onan the Clumsy is offline  
Old 3rd March 2004 | 23:32
  #5 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 1,003
Likes: 0
From: Geriatrica, UK
OtC,

If you're suspicious about an apparently safe official e-mail do a right-click on the title and left-click properties. You can see the headers without opening the message. Always assuming that, if you're using Outlook Express, you haven't allowed the message to be opened in the "Viewing Pane". This option should be unchecked in the View>Layout menu.

Often, the e-mail that purports to come from a respected source can be seen to have come from a domain that you have never heard of before.

And there's a new trick afoot. It used to be safe if you got an e-mail from eBay asking you to go to Site with a URL starting with https. Well, today an obviously spam e-mail coming from !eBay contained an https URL.

But I binned it anyway.

It's been a bad few days for viruses and spam, but the new BT/Yahoo setup is coping with the problems well. But they will keep changing things... Oh dear, I am getting old.
fobotcso is offline  
Old 4th March 2004 | 02:32
  #6 (permalink)  
The Oracle
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,902
Likes: 0
From: Naples, Florida U.S.A.
Onan the Clumsy,

It sounds like the MyDoom Worm.

If you check the full email header, you will see that the Yahoo address has been spoofed.

Take Care,

Richard
Naples Air Center, Inc. is offline  
Old 4th March 2004 | 02:46
  #7 (permalink)  
Not Manchester
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 506
Likes: 0
From: Salford
You could reasonably expect the Yahoo.com Team to be able to spell "amount" correctly, too!
Caslance is offline  
Old 4th March 2004 | 16:52
  #8 (permalink)  
Too mean to buy a long personal title
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,981
Likes: 13
From: UK
Onan the Clumsy

Actually, it looks like it's very probably one of the two new variants of Beagle, Beagle J or Beagle K. The Symantec fact sheets for
Beagle J and Beagle K both describe e-mails exactly as you received. (Scroll down to paragraph 9 and paragraph 8 respectively in those documents.)
Globaliser is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.