Wikiposts
Search

Notices
Computer/Internet Issues & Troubleshooting Anyone with questions about the terribly complex world of computers or the internet should try here. NOT FOR REPORTING ISSUES WITH PPRuNe FORUMS! Please use the subforum "PPRuNe Problems or Queries."

"No spam" database.

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 25th December 2003 | 02:00
  #1 (permalink)  
Thread Starter


Moderator
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,586
Likes: 0
From: Orlando, Florida
"No spam" database.

Hmmm, just clicked the "unsubscribe" link in a spam mail - and was sent to this web site

Suggests it is the start of a no spam database - anybody know any more about it (or similar)?
Keygrip is offline  
Old 25th December 2003 | 02:19
  #2 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 151
Likes: 0
From: Scotland
Sounds fantastic in principle but why would a spammer send you to a site that is offering to stop spam. As for the comment on the site that maybe 40% of all mail is spam, how long ago was that written, I reckon the figure must be nearer 60% already.

I have just closed my long standing email account as I was getting around 95% unwanted mail. So the sooner there is some legislation the better.
Front_Seat_Dreamer is offline  
Old 25th December 2003 | 02:22
  #3 (permalink)  
419
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 408
Likes: 0
From: London
Keygrip,
Have a look at this site.

http://www.spamhaus.org/removelists.html

I don't know who SPAMHAUS are, but they say this is a scam to collect e-mail addresses

419
419 is offline  
Old 25th December 2003 | 03:04
  #4 (permalink)  
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 376
Likes: 0
From: surrey
As a general rule it is best never to click the UNSUBSCRIBE button. The link can uniquely identify the email address that you are responding from and you are tagged as an active email user (and Spam reader). Your email address just became much more valuable to the spammer, who will sell it on.

TG
Tall_guy_in_a_152 is offline  
Old 25th December 2003 | 03:18
  #5 (permalink)  
Thread Starter


Moderator
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,586
Likes: 0
From: Orlando, Florida
TG - to be totally fair (and this may answer Front Seats question) it was an "unsubscribe" from a crappy service that I had previously subscribed to.

I understand what you're all saying about the scam to collect even more genuine e-mail addresses and, as yet, have not put my address on the list suggested by the original link.

Thought I'd ask all you guru's first.
Keygrip is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.