PDA

View Full Version : noise reduction headsets or special earplugs?

Oasis
13th Feb 2001, 13:39
Hi all,
Don't certain if this is the right forum for this, but here it goes.
Are there any 747 or 777 drivers who use one of those noise reduction headsets that can plug in the regular headset plugs or specially fitted earplugs?
Which ones are the best?
(and, if so, where can you order them? I live in asia...)

Just trying to make my ears last a little longer..

Cheers,

Oasis.

------------------
Please don't tell Mum I'm a pilot, she thinks I play piano in a whorehouse.

wallabie
13th Feb 2001, 17:56
Can't hear you, speak louder !!!!!

When I was flying the /400, we were wearing headsets the whole time. I think it had more to do with where the loudspeaker are located ( I understand it's the same on the 777 ) than the aircraft being really noisy.
On the 320 we use the headset up to 10 000 ft and then are on loudspeaker and it's fine. Trust me, there nothing noisier than a first generation 320 !

Strikie
13th Feb 2001, 18:28
Ear-plugs work by blocking sound pressure; good ones by up to 21dB. Active noise-reduction headsets work on cancelling out sound/noise within a specific frequency range - the sound is picked up thru' the boom-mic, the noise-reduction circuit generates an out-of-phase signal, and you then hear 'nothing' in that frequency range!!
Apart from cancelling out some of the ambient noise, ANR circuits 'clean' out the inherent noise in the radios (HF reception is almost as bearable as VHF). What this means is that you can have the receiver volume turned down lower and you can hear your other crew members speak.
Try it out for yourself, and you'll find that ANR headsets have loads more advantage over ear-plugs (but ear-plugs are cheaper, much, much cheaper...)

trevis
13th Feb 2001, 20:06