PDA

View Full Version : c/l 1/2RhoV2S

t'aint natural
5th Sep 2001, 23:59
I’m just a helicopter instructor so I don’t know nuthin and I wondered if somebody could put me straight on a matter. Is an aircraft producing the same amount of lift when it is climbing as when it is descending at the same speed? (Presuming all considerations and configurations equal). If (as I suspect) so, why is it going up/coming down?

chris barlow
6th Sep 2001, 02:06
Intriguing question. Yes it's producing the same amount of Lift in both cases assuming that Thrust and Drag cancel each other. It's an initial condition problem. It's going up because that's the way it's pointed and there's no net force to rotate the velocity vector downwards. Similarly for the descent. A net force was supplied initially to rotate the velocity vector either up or down. Now it's there it'll take another force to rotate it back the other way. With drag and thrust cancelled, and the vertical component of lift equal to the weight in both instances, both cases are in perfect equilibrium.

Pub User
6th Sep 2001, 02:31
As a helicopter instructor, you must have passed rotary-wing aerodynamics exams, which are gernerally much more complex than their fixed-wing counterparts.

Unfortunately a picture paints a thousand words, and I'm not clever enough to draw a picture here. Just sketch yourself a diagram of lift/thrust/weight/drag vectors and alter them for different flight profiles. You will soon see how each state is actually an equilibrium of forces, although the thrust one is obviously larger in a climb than a descent because it opposes some weight (always vertical) when climbing, and is helped by it when descending.

EchoTango
6th Sep 2001, 02:41
Thats rather basic.
Vertical lift component = weight. You maintain altitude.
Vertical lift component > weight. You go up.
Vertical lift component < weight. You go down.
Thats why you fiddle with those cyclic and collective gadgets.

ET

humpty
6th Sep 2001, 03:31