PDA

View Full Version : Screaching Tyres

Jinkster
11th Jul 2003, 20:44
Screaching Tyres

I am a poor ATPL student and the closest I get to big fast jets is either holiday or watching them at the local airport.

I wonder how much wear and tear the tyres of say a 737 get every time it lands.

My question is - if the tyre was to accelerate with the airflow when on approach instead of the tyre accelerating when it touches the tarmac wearing the tyre and possibility risk of blowout.

How much money would it save a company in tyres each year and would it be a cost effective design?

Does anybody catch my drift :rolleyes: ?

Jinkster

PAXboy
11th Jul 2003, 21:02
If you search the archive of Pprune you may find a similar thread as this was discussed at some stage of the last year (I think).

In a nutshell, the weight penalty of carrying electric motors to spin up the tyres does not justify the savings on wear. There is also the issue of adding further complications and equipment to the machine that has to be designed and built and then maintained. Simplicity usually wins.

I understand that designers have done many tests over the years on this point. What they found was (again, if I recall correctly) that you have to match the rotation of tryres closely to what they will be a second after touch down. If the tyre is rotating slower or faster than it will be after touch down - it still suffers wear in adjusting from it's speed to the actual one.

Something like that!

Jinkster
11th Jul 2003, 21:18
I understand what you are trying to say - my idea uses the airflow to speed up the wheels so little extra electrical equipment is needed - however more drag would be created.

As you said Pax - trying to match the speed of the wheels to the speed of the approach is the more difficult part of the problem - anyone know?

Jinkster

Golden Rivet
11th Jul 2003, 23:12