PDA

View Full Version : Affordable aviation

Shamow
8th Jul 2003, 00:38
I've been hanging around the forums for a while, going through lots of old posts and considering what kind of flying would appeal to me. I considered the commercial airline route but, for my own various reasons, I have discarded that notion for the time being.

After a fair bit of research (on the web, magazines and from books) it looks like the most affordable way for me to fly (and continue to keep flying) would be in 3-axis microlights. Flexwings look like fun but I have my mind set on 3-axis.

After doing all the research I wonder if any 3-axis pilots could answer a few questions for me as I'd like to hear the information from people with experience.

(i) Maintanance - I am a complete novice when it comes to engines and how they work. I can service my car (oil, spark plugs, air filter, oil filter) but ask me how parts interlink or what a carb does and I haven't a clue. Is this something you get taught along the way or should I do as much studying as possible before flying? How much do you need to know about engines and their workings?

(ii) Weather restrictions - I have done over 500 skydives in approx. 4 years so I am no stranger to how the British weather can affect your aerial enjoyment. What wind restrictions are there on flying 3-axis aircraft and how do you cope if you're miles from home and the wind picks up.

(iii) Cost to run - One of the main attractions of 3-axis aircraft is that they seem relatively cheap to buy second hand and also to run. Could someone give me a breakdown of their monthly/yearly cost to own their aircraft detailing where the money is spent.

(iv) Insurance - Can you get life insurance to cover this? How much does it cost you to insure your aircraft?