PDA

View Full Version : Teesside Controllers

Flock1
17th May 2003, 03:30
I am a student pilot about to fly my solo cross-country. My route is Leeds - Gamston - Teesside - Leeds.

Basically, all i want to know are the procedures for entering and leaving the Teeside Zone.

This is what i assume will happen.

On the Gamston - Teesside portion of the trip, I will fly to Northallerton VRP and depending upon the wind, I will get directed to the Motorway Junction VRP for a straight in approach on 05. Or I'll be directed in via Redcar VRP for runway 23.

Is this about right?

Also, will you be kind to students like me, who are scared of you lot lurking in the tower? Will you get angry if I mumble or stumble over my readbacks?

Cheers in advance for any help you can offer me.

R200EGNM
17th May 2003, 05:22
Hiya Flock1,

I'll leave someone more qualified to let you know about the procedures, but when I did my QXC (Leeds - Newcastle - Tesside - Leeds) the boys and girls at Teeside were fantastic.

I wouldnt be worried about talking to them they are great (even when I gave them the wrong exiting VRP so they had to change the strips :D) End of the day remember its just Class D airspace like at Leeds so there won't be any major procedural differences so just sit back and enjoy it.

Good luck with it! Will be lots of fun I assure you.

eyeinthesky
17th May 2003, 05:24
There is of course nothing wrong with asking for help from here, but haven't you been briefed or even taken into the Teeside CTR by your instructor??

Seems like some shabby standards to me.:mad:

Samwise
18th May 2003, 00:27
Flock1

Assuming that you'll be working Leeming on the way North from Gamston, they'll pass your details to us, so we'll know you're coming. Just make sure that they transfer you to us before the boundary of the Class D airspace - they sometimes get busy and forget - remember that they are also working UHF frequencies .