PDA

View Full Version : go around

deanofs
25th Apr 2003, 01:45
Im a student pilot and went today to Manchester Airport viewing park to listen in and rehearse RT as well as enjoy seeing the big guys flying in and out. While I was there and within about 30 minutes of each other there were 2 go arounds called.

Clearly it is done for safety reasons etc, but I wondered do the pax on board realise its happening ? In my PA28 you certainly know it !! but is the 777 a different kettle of fish ? The other question I was thinking about is how much extra fuel might it take up. Both a/c were on short finals when called to go around by ATC.

Thanks

chiglet
25th Apr 2003, 02:50
As an "ATCer" I have had a go around as a pax, and also as a "supernumary" [aka familiarisation flight] cockpit member.
On both occasions nothing was said to the pax:confused:
No idea what the SOP is per XXairline
we aim to please, it keeps the cleaners happy

south coast
25th Apr 2003, 16:01
with regards to the whole go around thing...i have been flying as a passenger for 20 odd years now, and i had never been on a 'go-around' until about 5 weeks ago. we were flying on an air2000 charter from algeria back to gatwick and we were on the final approach when we heard the engines spooling up and the nose started pointing the other way...needless to say, the captain came on the pa and informed us that someone was a little slow in clearing the runway, hence the go around.