PDA

View Full Version : Can't VB get Oz Pilots?

Sooty
17th Mar 2003, 20:51
I'm an Australian 737 pilot working in the U.K.

I've just heard that there are two non Aussie pilots within my company alone who have interviews with VB.

Aren't there enough pilots floating around in Oz who could do with the job, let alone the ones (myself included) who have the experience and would love to get back home?

Winstun
17th Mar 2003, 22:45
They obviously have the right of residence in said country, just like you. If not, why don't you direct your complaint to the Oz Dept. of Immigration.

This cry baby wants all the cake and not share any.:{

redsnail
18th Mar 2003, 00:04
Sooty,
I hear your pain but the irony won't be lost on any British pilots.

virgindriver
18th Mar 2003, 05:32
I don't see why they can't get considered for employment here if we can work over there..:p

flightfocus
18th Mar 2003, 06:10
Aside from the irony of Sooty's post it would be nice - and probably better for our local industry - if VB could fill those seats with local talent... :sad:

Sooty
18th Mar 2003, 08:12
I agree that fairs fair. There are plenty of Oz pilots in the UK and if you have residency rights why not give it a go.
My point is that there are plenty of out of work pilots in Australia. These guys are being chosen I guess because they have command experience on type. Surely there are enough pilots within VB who are suitable for command. Or if they need FO's I'm sure there is definately no shortage of candidiates in Australia.

E.P.
18th Mar 2003, 09:00
There remain over 500 Airline Jet experienced (at least 5yrs) pilots un-employed in Australia.

Ironic how Capt J.R. screamed bloody murder when foreign pilots were used during the dispute and yet he is now guilty of the same.

Worst still that the pilots he refuses to employ had nothing to do with the "event". Those who did have not bothered to apply to V.B..:)

Ramboflyer 1
18th Mar 2003, 10:17