PDA

View Full Version : Weight/Balance

Maxflyer
5th Mar 2003, 11:49
I am nearly at the end of my PPL training. Flying has been all OK. Have taken all exams apart from flight perfromance and planning. I am currently reading the Trevor Thom study book on this and cannot get my head around the Mrces, Mments and Datums issue. Can anyone suggest any other study text or web site that may help this idiot?

Any help appreciated. Tim Johnson

Genghis the Engineer
5th Mar 2003, 12:27
The Operators Manual (the proper official one, not somebody else's unapproved version) will have a weight and balance section which should guide you through the process reasonably simply, I'd try that.

G

Saab Dastard
5th Mar 2003, 21:23
tmybr,

You aren't an idiot, you can't be if you can afford to fly! Then again, maybe we are all barmy shelling out so much for the £100 cup of coffee!

Anyway, I'm a civil engineer (or was) and statics used to be meet and drink to me, so I've written a few notes that you may find useful. Be warned - it's quite long.

A moment is a force multiplied by a distance.

Weight (mass x acceleration due to gravity) is one of the most familiar forces we deal with – it is easy to forget that it is a force.

So for weight and balance calcs, the moments we are concerned with are weights x distances.

Imagine two children on a 4m long see-saw. One is 15 kilos, the other is 30 kilos. How do we get the see-saw to balance? If they are both the same distance from the pivot (say 2m), the see-saw will sink to the heavier side. Now think of the moments – 2m x 15k and 2m x 30k or 30 and 60 – so it is obvious that the see-saw will sink to the heavier side, as the moment is twice as great as the other.

So to balance, the distance of the heavier child from the pivot must be half that of the lighter one – i.e. 1m and 2m respectively. Now the moments will be the same and the see-saw will balance – 1x30 = 2x15.