PDA

View Full Version : Career in ATC?

Busterplane
1st Mar 2003, 08:55
Hi

If this is a much chewed over topic, I appologise its my first time in this forum.

I currently hold an ATPL(A) and am seriously considering a change of career. ATC seems a logical progression although despite 10 years as a commercial pilot, suprise(not), what I know about training requirements is next to negligable.

How long would I have to train in order to get a workable qualification and what are the realistic career prospects and salary with an entry level qualification?

OK so its a poacher turned gamekeeper scenario but any help would be appreciated.

OscarTango
3rd Mar 2003, 11:56
sorry, but if you have a ATPL for more then 10 years, you've probably exceeded the qualifiaction age. At least for Eurocontrol..if that was one of your options... I don't know about NATS. Not happy flying anymore ?:confused:

Gonzo
3rd Mar 2003, 12:47
NATS will overlook the age limit (27 at the moment?) if you have 'relevant aviation experience'.

Gonzo.

FWA NATCA
4th Mar 2003, 21:31
Busterplane,

First of all I know a former poacher that became a game warden or as we call them Department of Natural Resources Officer.

As for transitioning into ATC, give it a try, I know many pilots who are controllers, several with commerical tickets, and several that are still actively flying charters, and/or cargo as well as controlling traffic.

Mike
NATCA FWA

Barnaby the Bear
5th Mar 2003, 08:33
If you go to the NATS website, www.NATS.co.uk. They have thier entry requirements, and a brief overview of the courses on offer.
Good luck :}

Smoke me a kipper
6th Mar 2003, 14:08
NATS will overlook your age provided that you have some Aviation background. The best way to check would be to speak to the recruitment section. I can dig out a number for them if you wish!