PDA

View Full Version : great circle rule

luckykathryn
7th Feb 2003, 14:37
Dear All.

I'm only a private pilot but i'm being ridiculed by my other colleages in the office, therefore I hope you can help me.

We were having an arguement abt if you fly directly from London to Houston that it was quicker (in time and distance) to go in a straight line across the globe. I 100% percent disagree with this. I understand that it is quicker to fly north via greenland etc....

Can someone calculate the distance directly (in time and distance) from London directly to Houston (across the globe) and to go via the north like most normal airliners do.

Thank you !

qwertyuiop
7th Feb 2003, 14:57
I am not very clever and plotting really blew my brain but i think its like this.

Take a globe and place a pin in your start and end point. Attach rubber band to both pins and as long as it is tight (stright line) you have the shortest route.

Problem, or confusion, comes when you draw this on a flat map. The same line will now be curved.

A simplified answer but basically true. (i think!!)

stargazer02
7th Feb 2003, 14:58
Hi there
just get a model globe and show them that it is easier
being a PPL i suggest that it would be good practice for you to figure it out and prove it to your collegues rather that just take someone's word for it.
Perhaps they are just pulling your leg to see the extent of your education in aviation....
Remember never argue with a fool .....people might not know the difference.

canepa
7th Feb 2003, 15:24
HELLO Lucky kathryn,

What you are asking for is a simple problem of spheric trigonometry,

Assuming that :
La and Ga are the coordinates of your departing point. La for latitude and Ga for longitude,
Lb and Gb the coordinates of your arriving point,
D the distance of the circle line between two points,

cos D = sinLasinLb + cosLacosLbcos( Gb-Ga )
cos D = sin51°30sin29°46 + cos51°30cos29°46cos95°22
cos D = 0.340
D=70°12, therefore 4212 NM.

philippe,

bookworm