PDA

View Full Version : Gear downlock override.

FIRESYSOK
29th Jan 2003, 17:00
Does anyone have opinion on the use of the downlock override mechanism present on most A/C? I can't find mention of it in any QRH or normal procedures.

My question is- would it be prudent to use if the landing gear did not want to retract? Or only in an engine-out situation. My thinking is to return to land, leaving it down rather than risk further gear problems forcing it up.

Thanks-

Oktas8
29th Jan 2003, 19:27
I have no practical experience with such aircraft, but I have a brief comment that may perhaps be helpful.

That said, (and if I've understood you correctly), the E110 Bandeirante flight manual suggests that this mechanism is to be used to raise the gear on the ground in an emergency, and will cause major damage to the undercarriage system.

The E110 was designed with military applications in mind, and in some cases it may be better to raise the gear during the landing roll than slide off the end of the too-short strip - eg if there's a cliff at the end...

Captain Stable
29th Jan 2003, 20:04
Put simply, you'd use it if you urgently, desperately needed to get the gear up; for example, to get over that big lump of rock when you've suffered a failed donk and the gear likes letting it all hang loose.

Any other situation, yes, you'd probably wander around to the other end and place the wheels nicely on the hard bit of tarmac they thoughtfully placed there for such eventualities.

I once used it in the sim when still on the runway. (The gear lever lock works quite nicely with weight on wheels! :D ). We had an engine out, but I had convinced myself we were airborne, so I hit the override. The gear came up - and we carried on flying, at about 4' QFE! Gradually climbed away - afterwards the TC said "I REALLY don't know how you pulled that one off!".

Nor did we. ;)

Kotare
29th Jan 2003, 22:43