PDA

View Full Version : Aviation English

austhai
8th Jan 2003, 15:41
I am a qualified English teacher working at a large high school in Thailand.
I would like to teach Aviation English as my passion has always been the aviation industry... I hold an australian PPL.
I would like to either work for an orgnisation that tutors Aviation English or start courses of my own.
I have a close friend who is a retired 767 captain and he is interested in helping with the set up and content of the course.

What I need to know is where pilots who are not native English speakers learn aviation English ?
Any feedback would be appreciated.

Baron rouge
8th Jan 2003, 16:38
As an ex French air force pilot I can tell you air forces have specific courses with dedicated teachers and books.

Lu Zuckerman
8th Jan 2003, 17:11
Contact the following:

Air Transport Association (Publications Branch)
1709 New York Avenue N.W.
Washington, DC
USA

They have published a technical glossary to standardize various technical terms. I believe they have also published and aviation English glossary / dictionary.

:cool:

ratsarrse
8th Jan 2003, 19:17
Sorry to distract from the thread, but how did English become the standard language for aviation? Hopefully this can be answered concisely...

FLEXJET
8th Jan 2003, 19:45
I have been teaching Aviation English for one full year in the French Air Force.
The majority of my students had little Aviation English knowledge before begining their training. They had several hours planned each week (I think it was 4) during their first phase of flight training as well as during initial ground training and later specific flight training (i.e. Transport or Fighter).

I thereafter qualified as a JAA CPL/IR ATPL and observed that my fellow students had about the same Av. Eng. skills but they were free to study Av. Eng. whenever they wanted, either during the ATPL Ground School, either beetween ATPL and CPL/IR flight training or even after!