PDA

View Full Version : Pressure vs Temperature

OBK!
10th Dec 2002, 10:57
Hi all!

I am quite confused about the whole concept of pressure vs temperature. I am studying my ATPLs and have just hit a chapter about Anticyclones.

It says that you can get warm and cold anticyclones. It also says that Anticyclones are high pressure. How can you get a cold anticyclone? I always thought cold ment Low Pressure and warm ment High Pressure. I.e - Temp goes up, Pressure goes up, etc.

It says that cold anticyclones are formed when cold surface temperatures make the lower troposphere cold and dense. Yet it also says "Warm air mass - high pressure...Cool air mass - low pressure"...contradicting?

I too don't really get the Pressure/Density/Temperature realtionship as this is all screwed up in my head when thinking about anticyclones.

I would appreciate if someone could explain, use really basic english, and I mean go to extremeties...really BASIC!

:( :confused: :mad: :confused: :mad: :(

Chicken Leg
10th Dec 2002, 23:02
Lose the idea that highs are hot and lows are cold. This is definately not always the case. For example the air around the equator is "typically" hot, unstable and often moist. Hence deep low pressure systems develop and very active storms are produced. Conversely, the air over the poles is "typically" cold, dry and very stable in other words anticyclonic.

We in the UK sometimes assume that high means warm because in the summer we are often influenced by the Azores High. As its name would suggest it originates from the Azores and drags warm air up from the sub tropics. But you will also be familiar with those beautifully clear January days when this isn't a cloud in the sky, the sun is shining, but it is bitterly cold. Those conditions are also anticyclonic - High pressure.

Try and understand how the highs and lows originally develop (normally uneven surface heating over a large area) and forget the idea that highs must be hot.

Hope this helps.

bookworm