PDA

View Full Version : Flight Directors

Lump Jockey
5th Dec 2002, 17:46
As a non pilot, I was just wondering what help the FD gives you as an aid in flying? Do they show you the attitude you should achieve or something? Apologise for my ignorance here! Also what's AOC short for!?
TIA

OBK!
5th Dec 2002, 18:55
Your half way there! The flight director is driven by the automatic flight direction system (AFDS) and basically, whatever you command on the autopilot, it will follow. You can follow it (well, some airlines say you gotta follow it for the smoothest most efficient ride etc etc) to get what you have selected on the autopilot. So you set 10,000ft, and heading 360 and you are 9000ft and 300 it will command an up attitude, and right turn...but it's surely not as simple as that, all different stuff about performance/config of the airctraft are taken into account.

AOC i think means Air Operaters Certificate...just a guess, I heard it somewhere before, not sure what it's for. A certificate to operate I guess?:rolleyes:

Capt Wannabe
5th Dec 2002, 20:18
From what I remember the flight director gives the commands independatly of the autopilot. It is quite possible to use a FD without an AP, but if required an AP will follow the commands of the FD.

OBK!
5th Dec 2002, 20:46
Yeh something like that. There's a switch for both anyway :)

Tinstaafl
5th Dec 2002, 22:00
The Flight Director (FD) provides steering cues that are displayed on the Attitude Indicator. It's usually either in the form of 'V bars' or 'Cross hairs'. These steering cues are in response to deviations away from some specified datum eg altitude, heading, pitch attitude/speed, navigation instruments etc etc

When the FD is being used, the job of the pilot is to make control inputs that keep the attitude indicator's a/c symbol matching the position of the Flight Director's V-bar/cross hair symbol. This is instead of interpreting the flight &/or nav instruments to achieve the same result.