PDA

View Full Version : Sherburn Aero Club

rocafellascunk
28th Nov 2002, 12:49
Hi there I am soon to embark on attaining my PPL. I am at the stage of looking for a good flying school (preferably local to me). I live in York. Are there any student PPLs out there who are or have been to Sherburn Aero Club? If so what is it like ie instructors, aircraft,ground school etc. I know this is a very broad question. I would just like to know if you are happy and would recomend it.
Thanks for your time

knobbygb
28th Nov 2002, 13:20
rocafellascunk,

I'm a student at Sherburn and I'm very happy with the place. It's got lots of members and the aircraft and instructors are all booked up weeks ahead, so they must be doing somthing right.

I travel quite a long way to get there and still think it's worthwhile. Living in York, it's certainley going to be the most convenient place for you. There are also schools at Leeds/Bradford and Humberside to consider.

I prefer a 'club' rather than 'school' because they are not there to make a profit and so are generally cheaper. Check out Sherburns prices on their website and compare!

I'll send you an email with more details as I don't want to be 'advertising' on here, and it probably wouldn't interest most people anyway.

Wherever you choose to learn, get down there and meet the people and judge the atmosphere for yourself. You'll spend a lot of time and money there so you need to be happy.

[edit...]
perhaps not as you have your email disabled - check you private messages.

DRJAD
29th Nov 2002, 06:48
Entirely concur with Kgb, above.

I'm nearing, hopefully, the end of my training phase at SAC, and am delighted with the support I've received, and with the quality of instruction.

I would definitely continue further training with SAC when the time and opportunity arises.