PDA

View Full Version : State of NATS

Mak
11th Nov 2002, 18:48
Hi all,

As a new pilot, I have obvious interest in the state of NATS. However I have failed to get a clear picture of the situation from the newspapers. From my badly informed position the privatisation seems to have turned a reasonably managed business that made no significant profit or loss into a massively indebted operation. Can someone shed some light on how we came to this situation?

In the meanwhile thanks to all ATCOs here for keeping up a good service under whatever working conditions you've been thrown into.

Mak

BDiONU
11th Nov 2002, 19:09
NATS was sold by the government and the price was borrowed by NATS to pay the government and is now the millstone around its neck, a debt of approx £70billion.
Previously NATS was a profitable company, the en-route fees more than covered its costs and allowed for future investment. Now the repayments on our huge debt mean that we don't have the money for investment we previously had. Selling us off was allegedly to allow us easier access to the money markets and the ability to invest properly in our business. No-one wants to loan money to a company who's debts are hugely leveraged!! Sigh!!
My viewpoint, please correct me if I'm wrong.

Llamapoo
12th Nov 2002, 18:43
I agree with your viewpoint, but is the debt really 70 BILLION? That's phenomenal! Anybody who wants to be a politician should really be prohibited from being one, because they obviously don't have the brains they were born with:mad: !

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
13th Nov 2002, 07:30
<<However I have failed to get a clear picture of the situation from the newspapers. >>

Did you honestly expect to?

Llamapoo - how right you are about politicians!

Not Long Now
13th Nov 2002, 09:50