PDA

View Full Version : Use of runway distances

Barnside
31st Oct 2002, 13:22
I'm not a professional - just a PPL IR but I could do with some experienced feedback to the following question.

When looking up airport information, specifically runway distances, what is the relative importance of the following measurements? (my own thoughts in brackets)

LDA (presumably of critical importance?)
TORA (isn't this always the same as runway distance?)
ASDA (is this of any value without TODA?)
TODA

Thanks

Mowgli
1st Nov 2002, 16:17
Barnside:

LDA: the runway length available and suitable for the ground landing run of an aeroplane (CAP 168)

TORA: the declared distance available which has the same load bearing strength along that whole length (and breadth)

TODA: = TORA + clearway or 1.5 x TORA whichever is less.

Clearway: A clearway may have no load bearing strength and may be land or water. It is an area beyond the end of TORA which is free from obstacles which may cause a hazard to ac in flight. (i.e an area where after lift off you can safely transit to the screen height)

ASDA: = TORA + stopway.

Stopway: An area beyond the end of TORA which can be used infrequently after an abandoned take-off. i.e it is able to support the weight of an ac and should have a similar co-efficient of friction to the runway but is for occasional use only and is a cheap way of allowing heavier aircraft to utilise the runway. Hence ASDA = accelerate-stop distance available whereas TODA is used to calculate the limit for getting airborne rather than stopping.

Hope that helps!

john_tullamarine
1st Nov 2002, 21:47
A point of addition/clarification.

TORA/TORR is used for heavies to consider the requirement to get airborne before the end of the runway. TODA/TODR, on the other hand, may include some of the scheduled airborne distance over an area unsuitable for the aircraft to run its wheels along.